Another umpiring dismissal became a topic of debate at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 when Rohit Sharma was given out caught behind in India's fixture against the West Indies at Old Trafford in Manchester. With Kemar Roach bowling, he had the Indian opener in a bit of bother by breaching the gap between bat and pad. The good length delivery had Rohit split open as the Windies went up in appeal.
With umpire ruling not out, West Indies captain Jason Holder sought another look by taking the review. On the replay, it appeared there was a spike on UltraEdge as the ball passed through. Third umpire Michael Gough didn't take long or even a second look before making up his mind and choosing to reverse the decision by on-field umpire Richard Illingworth.
Justifiably, West Indies team celebrated the early strike. But Rohit was left shocked with the decision and so was his wife Ritika Sajdeh in the stands as the camera panned to her. Rohit afforded a wry smile before walking back in disgust. His body language, as he walked back, was that of someone who was disappointed with the call and there was reason for it.
— Rohit Sankar (@imRohit_SN) June 27, 2019
For once I'm not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn't either. — Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
— Anand Vasu (@anandvasu) June 27, 2019
Just curious, how is that conclusive evidence that the ball hit bat first and not the pad? There's enough doubt there, no? Shouldn't the umpire be sticking with the on-field decision?#INDvWI #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/Uu3YKS3a4Z — Vinayakk (@vinayakkm) June 27, 2019
— Gaurav Kalra (@gauravkalra75) June 27, 2019
— Nishad Pai Vaidya (@NishadPaiVaidya) June 27, 2019
Full sun on the ball, in the picture, on the right frame. Ball has hit the pad not the bat. Technology making the world a clearer picture, NOT! Rohit has to accept the umpires decision, ctrl+alt+delete!#cwc2019… https://t.co/FXRgzrFcMv — Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) June 27, 2019
Clearly touched the pad first but might have hit the bat too. But umpire was so quick to give Rohit out, should have looked in slow motion. Even the on field umpire was confused!! pic.twitter.com/pBVXoeTurx
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) June 27, 2019
Wait a minute, @ICC didn't arrange for hot spot which would be definitely available for the Ashes a month later? Ridiculous. This decision will be cleared up by hot spot easily. — A/S (@slicesofIife) June 27, 2019
That was an unbelievably poor decision. The 3rd umpire has the time and the angles to be sure. He is supposed to be certain to overturn.
— Boardman Gets Rings (@Jazz_CB) June 27, 2019
Former Australia player Brad Hogg tweeted, "Full sun on the ball, in the picture, on the right frame. Ball has hit the pad not the bat. Technology making the world a clearer picture, NOT! Rohit has to accept the umpires decision, ctrl+alt+delete!"
Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.
The Indian team was making the gesture for the first time. Players of the Pakistan team, meanwhile, too paid a tribute by holding their right hand to their heart.
Captaining the side with Virat Kohli only taking the field to bowl, Rohit Sharma (60 retired off 41) showed sublime touch alongside opening partner KL Rahul (39 off 31) as India chased down Australia's 152 for five.
India will clash against Pakistan in their main event lung-opener on Sunday. The tournament will be Virat Kohli's last as skipper in the format besides being the swan-song for head coach Ravi Shastri.