Co-presented by

Watch: India's Olympic journey since 1900

Since India began participating in the Olympics in 1900, it has only managed to pocket twenty-eight medals. The number is surprisingly low considering its participation in twenty-eight games.

Norman Pritchard went on to be the first Indian to win two silver medals in athletics in the 1900 games.

India’s Olympic performance has been consistent in Hockey, Shooting and Wrestling, where it has won most medals.
Hockey has won India the most numbers of medals, securing eight gold medals between 1928 and 1960. The Hockey team also won a silver in 1960 and a bronze in 1968 and 1972, but hasn’t won a medal since.

In Wrestling, Khashaba Dadasaheb Jadhav was the first to win a bronze in 1952. Sushil Kumar went on to become the only Indian after Pritchard to win two medals in an individual event, winning a bronze in 2008 and a silver in 2012. In 2012, Yogeshwar Dutt won a bronze and Sakshi Malik went on to be the first Indian female wrestler to win a medal at the Olympics securing a silver in 2016.

In recent years, Indian shooters have won several medals for India. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore won a silver in 2004. In 2008, Abhinav Bindra became the first Indian to win a gold in an individual event while Gagan Narang and Vijay Kumar secured a bronze and a silver respectively in the 2012 games.

India has also won two medals in Badminton, both by female players. Saina Nehwal won a bronze in 2012 while P V Sindhu won a silver in the 2016 games.

In other individual events, Leander Paes secured a bronze in tennis in 1996 and Karnam Malleswari won a bronze in weightlifting in 2000 while Mary Kom won a bronze in boxing in 2012.

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Jun 23, 2017 19:12:59 IST