Voting begins to decide if Scotland wants independence from UK

Edinburgh, Scotland: Polls have opened across Scotland in a referendum that will decide whether the country leaves its 307-year-old union with the United Kingdom and becomes an independent state.

 Voting begins to decide if Scotland wants independence from UK

A voter leaves after casting his ballot at Ritchie Hall in Strichen, Scotland. AP

More than 2,600 polling places will be open Thursday from 7 am (0600GMT, 2 am EDT) until 10 pm (2100GMT, 5 pm EDT).

Turnout is expected to be high, with more than 4.2 million people registered to vote — 97 percent of those eligible.

Polls suggest the result is too close to call, with the pro-independence Yes side gaining momentum in the final weeks of campaigning.

First Minister Alex Salmond is casting his vote near his home in northeast Scotland.

If the Yes side prevails he will realize a long-held dream of leading his country to independence after an alliance with England formed in 1707.

Associated Press

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Sep 18, 2014 14:12:26 IST