Associate Partner

Pakistan Election: From Wasim Akram's support for Imran Khan to Shoaib Akthar's tweet, cricketers react to tomorrow's polls

Pakistan's cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan hopes to oust the two prominent political dynasties in Wednesday's election by riding on his promises of anti-corruption, investment in education and healthcare, and providing equal rights for religious and ethnic minorities.

Khan, the captain of the 1992 Cricket World Cup-winning Pakistan team has found support from his former teammates who have thrown their weight behind the PTI leader, who is working to become the country's prime minister when the results are announced.

Pakistan bowling great Wasim Akram was among the most vocal supporters of Khan's brand of politics

Akram went on to add how Khan's elevation to the PM post will be the change Pakistan needs

Akram's bowling partner and another legendary Pakistan pacer Waqar Younis also rallied behind his former captain

Younis expressed his admiration for his skipper's honesty and believed this was Pakistan's need of the hour

While Akram and Younis were clear about their choice in the forthcoming Pakistan general election, Shoaib Akhtar didn't exude the same enthusiasm. His rather cryptic message was more focussed on calling out Pakistan citizens to exercise their right to vote

Even former Pakistan captain Mohammad Hafeez didn't express his political affiliation. However, he chose to use the medium to urge the people to come out and vote on 25 July

Pakistan pacer Umar Gul joined Akthar and Hafeez in sticking to call for a safe and smooth election

On Wednesday, Pakistan will undergo general elections after the last democratically elected government completed its term on 31 May. This will be only the second time that Pakistan has a democratic transition of power without the interference of the country's military.

 Pakistan Election: From Wasim Akrams support for Imran Khan to Shoaib Akthars tweet, cricketers react to tomorrows polls
It is a three-pronged race between the incumbent Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N), Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari's Pakistan People's Party for the 272-seat strong Pakistan National Assembly.

The Great Diwali Discount!
Unlock 75% more savings this festive season. Get Moneycontrol Pro for a year for Rs 289 only.
Coupon code: DIWALI. Offer valid till 10th November, 2019 .

Updated Date: Jul 24, 2018 17:44:48 IST