Co-presented by

Nepal's CPN-MC chairman Prachanda files candidature for PM's post

Kathmandu: Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Centre) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal aka Prachanda on Tuesday filed his candidature for the Prime Minister's post as the country is all set to vote for its new premier on Wednesday.

 Nepals CPN-MC chairman Prachanda files candidature for PMs post

File image of Prachanda. Reuters

He filed his candidature papers at Parliamentary Secretariat backed by Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, Maoist leader Krishna Bahadur Mahara and Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal Chairman Upendra Yadav, a prominent Madhesi leader.

However, Prachanda is the sole candidate for the post.

Earlier, the second largest party in parliament, Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist-Leninist (CPN-UML) had decided to field a candidate but later the party decided not to.

Likewise, the agitating Sanghiya Loktantrik Madhesi Morcha has also supported Prachanda's candidature. Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party leader Sarbendra Nath Sukla and Sadbhawana Party leader Laxman Lal Karna have supported Prachanda's bid for the Prime Minister's post. This will be his second come-back as Prime Minister. Earlier, Prachanda became the premier in 2008 and resigned after he failed in his attempt to sack the then Chief of the Army Staff Rukmangud Kutwal.

In the 595-member parliament, Prachanda will require 298 votes to win the election. The Maoist Centre, the third largest party with 82 seats in parliament, has the backing of the Nepali Congress, the largest party with 207 seats.

As per the time table for the election of the new premier set by the Parliament Secretariat, nominations should be filed between 11 am to 4 pm with the final list to be published at 4.30 p.m. on Tuesday.

The final election, if any, will begin at 11 am on Wednesday.

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Aug 02, 2016 15:01:14 IST