Another accolade for Merkel: German chancellor to receive prestigious Four Freedoms Award

Netherlands: German Chancellor Angela Merkel has been named as this year's recipient of a prestigious international award, with organizers lauding her "great moral leadership" in Germany and pivotal role in tackling the crises buffeting Europe.

Angela Merkel. AFP

Angela Merkel. AFP

The Dutch-based Roosevelt Foundation says Merkel will receive the International Four Freedoms Medal at a ceremony in April.

In a statement announcing the award Wednesday, the foundation praised Merkel for her role in the European financial and migrant crises, for leading efforts to bring peace to conflict-torn Ukraine and for showing "great moral leadership as chancellor of all Germans regardless of faith and ethnicity."

Previous winners of the award include US Presidents Harry S. Truman and John F. Kennedy, South African leader Nelson Mandela and former United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan.



Updated Date: Jan 06, 2016 15:51 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See