Nishtha KanalMay 24, 2013 15:49:20 IST
Ever since Google Talk has been updated to Hangouts, users have been able to send pictures to each other over chat, making it easier to hold conversations that include transfer of images. It has now come to notice that the images you share over these Hangout conversations end up in your Google+ Photos section as a separate album.
If you have transferred images over Hangouts with your family and friends over the last few days after the upgrade, you can simply navigate to the “Photos” section on your Google+ profiles and then to the “Albums” section. Images you’ve shared over Hangouts will be stored here conversation-wise. Even if you click on the photo within the chat box, it will open up a Google+ window in your browser in order to display the larger image.
Images from every conversations are saved
The albums are easy to find and will be titled “Hangout: [Contact’s Name] ● [Your Name]” as default. You can change the title if you wish to. The worrying part is that Google+ will contain image backups from your Hangouts even if you explicitly disable automatic back-up within the Google+ app.
While it’s a great move to store away images you’ve shared over Hangouts for future usage, it looks kind of intrusive to save pictures even when you’ve asked Google to not save chat history. Essentially, Google will not save your text messages, but it will save pictures you’ve shared in the particular conversation.
Thankfully, these Hangout albums are set to private by default, so only you can view the pictures you and your friends have shared. The friend you’re having a conversation with will also be able to view this album, on your profile as well as his.
Even while it is going to be very messy trying to find other albums if you’re a power user, this feature might come in handy if you rely heavily on Google Hangouts for important conversations.
Tech2 is now on WhatsApp. For all the buzz on the latest tech and science, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Tech2.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.