Facebook won't change privacy settings when you die, allows Look Back video requests for memorial accounts

If a Facebook user dies, the person’s mourners can ask the social network to memorialise the account. However, once the account was memorialised its visibility was restricted to friends only. In its latest announcement, Facebook reveals that it will no longer limit the members who can view the account.

 

In its official blog post, Facebook writes, “Starting today, we will maintain the visibility of a person's content as-is. This will allow people to see memorialized profiles in a manner consistent with the deceased person's expectations of privacy. We are respecting the choices a person made in life while giving their extended community of family and friends ongoing visibility to the same content they could always see.”

 

Besides, Facebook now also allows the creation of “Look Back” compilation videos for these memorial accounts. John Berlin drew a lot attention when he requested Facebook for the Look Back video of his deceased son. Facebook said, “John Berlin reached out to ask if it was possible for Facebook to create a video for his son, Jesse, who passed away in 2012. We had not initially made the videos for memorialized accounts, but John's request touched the hearts of everyone who heard it, including ours.”

 

The blog said, “Today, we're also glad to begin offering a way for anyone who has suffered the loss of a loved one to see that person's “Look Back” video. In recognition of our ten-year anniversary, a group of our engineers created personal movies for people using some of the posts and photos they had shared over the years.” Users can sent out requests for these videos here.

Find our entire collection of stories, in-depth analysis, live updates, videos & more on Chandrayaan 2 Moon Mission on our dedicated #Chandrayaan2TheMoon domain.

Loading...




also see

science