'Joke of the day': Gayle, Bravo, Sammy join forces to troll West Indies selectors on Twitter

West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), on Thursday, announced the squad for the upcoming triangular one-day international series with Australia and South Africa, that is scheduled to be held in the Caribbean next month. The squad named raised many eyebrows as veteran batsman Chris Gayle and all-rounder Dwayne Bravo were omitted from squad, despite helping the calypso kings to World T20 title in April.

File picture of Chris Gayle. BCCI

File picture of Chris Gayle. BCCI

However, there was another surprise, which was more on the pleasant side. WICB recalled all-rounder Kieron Pollard and spinner Sunil Narine to the team after keeping the duo out for a long spell of time.

The announcement though, was met with plenty of sarcastic criticism from the senior members of West Indies' World T20 winning team that included Chris Gayle, Darren Sammy and Dwayne Bravo, who took to Twitter to lash out at the board in typical West Indian style.

The banter started after a tweet from Darren Sammy where he expressed surprise at Kieron Pollard's selection

Pollard too showed his funny side in a reply to the tweet, while still making the disappointment of his exclusion feel.

It wasn't long before the other big guns of West Indian cricket joined the fun. The banter would have been incomplete without the Universe boss!

Dwayne Bravo who was the other player to be ignored for the triangular series hit out at the functioning of the WICB that resembles more like a magic show


This comes in the wake of a long standing animosity between the players and the board. Earlier last month, Sammy had launched a scathing attack on the board straight after the World T20 title win in an emotional post-match presentation speech. While the internal unrest continues, international cricket is the biggest loser.

The tri-series starts in Guyana (June 3-7), moves to St Kitts (June 11-15), before concluding in Barbados (June 19-26).

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Shannon Gabriel, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor.

With inputs from PTI

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: May 20, 2016 18:44:55 IST

Also See