Vijay Hazare trophy roundup: Kedar Jadhav powers Maharashtra past Delhi, Baroda and MP win

Here is the roundup of the matches in the Vijay Hazare trophy

Maharashtra throws Delhi out of Vijay Hazare with big win

Cuttack: Skipper Kedar Jadhav led from the front with a blistering 113 as Maharashtra pounded a hapless Delhi by 195 runs in a Group B match to knock them out of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, in Cuttack on Tuesday.

After being invited to bat, Maharashtra treated the Delhi bowlers with disdain to put on board formidable 367 for eight and then shot out the rivals for a mere 172 inside 34 overs.

 Vijay Hazare trophy roundup: Kedar Jadhav powers Maharashtra past Delhi, Baroda and MP win

Kedar Jadhav. AP

It was third defeat in a row from Delhi, being led by young Rishabh Pant, and they are now out of the tournament.

It was not a great start for Maharashtra as seasoned Ashish Nehra removed Ruturaj Gaikwad (9) but Vijay Zol (35) and Naushad Shaikh (52) firmed up the innings with a 52-run stand.

After Shaikh was undone by Nitish Rana, captain Jadhav came on the crease and took the Delhi attack by the scruff of its neck, making an 83-ball 113 that was laced with 11 fours and eight sixes.

With keeper Nikhil Naik (63), Jadhav raised a quickfire 59-run stand for the fourth wicket before being dismissed by Pawan Negi.

Delhi had a relatively better start with India discards Gautam Gambhir (53) and Shikhar Dhawan (24) putting on 64 inside 10 overs but once the latter was run out, the innings continued to slump.

Only Milind Kumar (38) and Manan Sharma (21) resisted the Maharashtra attack a bit bit others faded as Delhi middle order crumbled. Dhruv Shorey (1), captain Pant (6) and Rana (0) all got out cheaply.

In other Group B matches, Tamil Nadu got the better of Himachal Pradesh by eight wickets, chasing a modest 217 to win in Cuttack while Tripura edged Uttar Pradesh by two wickets, chasing 198 in Bubaneshwar.

Opener Kaushik Gandhi hit an unbeaten 107 in Tamil Nadu's emphatic win after Himachal Pradesh were all out for 216.

It was Sarfraz Khan who helped UP post 197 and the bowlers too fought well but Gurinder Singh led Tripura to the finish line with his gritty 64 in a tight climax.


Pandya brothers star in Baroda's emphatic win over Punjab

Brothers Krunal and Hardik Pandya excelled with the bat and ball respectively as Baroda crushed Punjab by 75 runs in a Vijay Hazare Trophy group A match on Tuesday

Batting first, Krunal scored 78 off 105 with nine boundaries adding 102 runs with Aditya Waghmode (54) as Baroda scored a respectable 249 in 48.3 overs.

Irfan Pathan (37 off 40 balls) and Vishnu Solanki (24 off 17 balls) added 52 runs for the sixth wicket.

Baltej Singh (4/47) was the most successful bowler for Punjab while Siddharth Kaul got three wickets. Skipper Harbhajan Singh was economical giving away only 39 in his 10 overs.

Baroda then bowled out Punjab 174 in 40.4 overs with Hardik working up good pace to finish with figures of 3/26 in 8.4 overs. Hardik cleaned up Gurkeerat Singh Mann (62), Sandeep Sharma (10) and Siddharth Kaul (0).

Summarised Scores

At Karnail Singh Stadium: Baroda 249 in 48.3 overs (Krunal Pandya 78, Aditya Waghmode 54, Baltej Sibgh 4/47)

Punjab 174 in 40.4 overs (Gurkeerat Singh Mann 62, Hardik Pandya 3/26) Baroda won by 75 runs.
At Kotla: Assam 207 in 48.2 overs (KB Arun Karthik 56, J Syed Mohammed 53, Basant Mohanty 5/26)

Odisha 213/1 in 35.3 overs (Anurag Sarangi 104 no, Gobinda Poddar 100 no). Odisha won by 9 wickets.
At Palam: Railways 199 in 41.4 overs (Asad Pathan 46, Akshay Karnewar 3/32)

Vidarbha 200/2 in 45.2 overs (Jitesh Sharma 84, Faiz Fazal 53). Vidarbha won by 8 wickets.


MP beat Mumbai by 80 runs

Chandrakant Sakure (5/25) finished with a five-wicket haul as Madhya Pradesh registered a 80-run win over Ranji Trophy finalists Mumbai in a Group C match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mumbai restricted Madhya Pradesh to 214 in 45.1 overs but themselves fell for a meagre 134 in 38.4 overs.

Put in to bat, Madhya Pradesh opener Ankit Dane (46) and Sohraab Dhaliwal (51) chipped in with important contributions to take the team past 200-run mark.

For Mumbai, Shardul Thakur (3/27) was the pick of the bowlers with three scalps.

In reply, Mumbai kept losing wickets at regular interval with Sakure and Saransh Jain (3/30) doing the damage, sharing eight wickets between them.

Abhishek Nayar top scored for Mumbai with 24 runs.

Brief scores:

Madhya Pradesh: 214 all out in 45.1 overs (Sohraab Dhaliwal 51, Ankit Dane 46; Shardul Thakur 3/27).

Mumbai: 134 all out in 38.4 overs (Abhishek Nayar 24; Chandrakant Sakure 5/25, Saransh Jain 3/30).
Summarised scores for other Group C matches:

1) Bengal beat Goa by 8 wickets

Goa: 213 for 9 in 50 overs (Amogh Desai 49, Kanishk Seth 3/50).

Bengal: 214 for 2 in 35.5 overs (Manoj Tiwary 116 not out, Abhimanyu Easwaran 68 not out).
2) Rajasthan beat Gujarat by 14 runs

Rajasthan: 183 all out in 47.0 overs (Arjit Gupta 69, Kamlesh Nagarkoti 56 not out).

Gujarat: 169 all out in 43.1 overs (Bhargav Merai 51, Rujul Bhatt 49; Pankaj Singh 3/23, Kamlesh Nagarkoti 3/30).

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Feb 28, 2017 22:48:41 IST