Vijay Hazare Trophy: MS Dhoni selected to lead Jharkhand, after losing Rising Pune Supergiant captaincy

New Delhi: Two days after being removed from captaincy of his Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Rising Pune Supergiant, Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named captain of the Jharkhand state side for the Vijay Hazare Trophy starting on 25 February.

File photo of  Mahendra Singh Dhoni. AFP

File photo of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. AFP

In the last couple of seasons, Dhoni, while playing for Jharkhand, had never captained the side, but has taken up the mantle this time around.

It will be a strong Jharkhand team that will be vying for the national championship. Apart from Dhoni, they have the explosive Ishan Kishan and top domestic spinner Shahbaz Nadeem in their ranks.

Ishank Jaggi and Varun Aaron, both of whom had landed IPL contracts, are also there in the team with the burly Saurabh Tiwary. Young Virat Singh is also there in the squad.

Dhoni was on Sunday removed as captain of Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) and replaced by Australian Steve Smith, ending his innings as skipper in both international and franchise cricket.

Squad: MS Dhoni (C), Ishan Kishan, Ishank Jaggi, Virat Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Kaushal Singh, Pratyush Singh, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sonu Kumar Singh, Varun Aaron, Rahul Shukla, Anukul Roy, Monu Kumar Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Anand Singh, Kumar Deobrat, S Rathore, Vikash Singh.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 21, 2017 21:24:16 IST

Also See