Unstoppable: At Sydney International, Sania-Hingis equal record for most consecutive wins since 1994

Sydney: Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis continued their dream run of form, winning their 28th doubles match in a row after they overcame Chen Liang and Shuai Peng 6-2, 6-3 in the quarterfinals of WTA Sydney International semifinals with a straight set triumph.

The run of 28 consecutive wins equals the world record for the longest doubles winning streak since Gigi Fernández and Natasha Zvereva won 28 matches in a row together in 1994.

Starting last year, Mirza and Hingis have won 10 WTA doubles titles together -- Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and WTA Finals in 2015, and last week's Brisbane International.

Unstoppable: At Sydney International, Sania-Hingis equal record for most consecutive wins since 1994

File image of Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis. AP

Top seeds Mirza and Hingis got the better of China's Chen Liang and Shuai Peng in less than an hour to enter the last-four stage and remain on course for a second successive title this year.

In a totally lop-sided contest on Wednesday, Mirza and Hingis broke their rivals twice and saved one on their own serve to pocket the opening set with ease.

Liang and Peng's weak serve ensured that the second set followed a similar course. The Indo-Swiss combine frittered away seven chances but converted two, which was enough to give them the set and the match without breaking much sweat.

Mirza and Hingis will next be up against the winners of the match between Timea Babos and Katarina Srebotnik and Raluca Olaru and Yaroslava Shvedova.

The seemingly unstoppable duo of Mirza and Hingis eased past Anastasia Rodionova and Arina Rodionova in the opening round of Sydney International to extend their winning streak to 27 matches earlier on Tuesday.

Doubles world number one Sania and Swiss great Martina mauled the Rodionova pairing, representing Australia, 6-2, 6-3 to reach the quarters.

Sania and Martina began 2016 by winning the Brisbane International last week for their sixth title in a row.

Their 28-match winning run is the longest since Italians Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci won 25 in a row in 2012. Sara and Roberta had won five titles in a row, at Barcelona, Madrid, Rome, the French Open and 's-Hertogenbosch.

With PTI inputs

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Jan 14, 2016 14:17:49 IST

Also See