Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2016-17: Here's all you need to know about the five teams and their full squads

The inter-zonal stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy is set to commence in Mumbai from 12 February.

The tournament was earlier played between 27 teams divided in four groups, but BCCI announced that the 2016–17 season will be played in an inter-zonal format wherein five zones will compete in a round-robin tournament.

File photo of Uttar Pradesh with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2016. Image courtesy: BCCI website

File photo of Uttar Pradesh with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2016. Image courtesy: BCCI website

After an action-packed zonal stage, the final stage will boast several big names of Indian cricket which include the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Shikhar Dhawan Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv Patel, Manoj Tiwari, Suresh Raina, Vinay Kumar and Irfan Pathan.

These stars are divided in five teams which are basically the five zones of the country. Harbhajan will lead the star-studded North Zone side that starts the final stage favourites. Giving them stiff competition will be the West zone Side, captained by Parthiv Patel. Vinay Kumar will lead the South Zone side comprising of some young talents on the domestic circuit, while Manoj Tiwary is the skipper of the East Zone team. Raina will aim to lead a formidable Central Zone side to glory after returning to form with the national team recently.

All the matches will take place at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Here is the list of full squads of all the five teams that will vie for the title from Sunday:

East Zone:

Manoj Tiwary (C), Saurabh Tiwary, Abhijit Sarkar, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ishan Kishan, Shreevats Goswami, Ishank Jaggi, Virat Singh, KB Arun Karthik, Writtick Chatterjee, Amit Verma, Ashok Dinda, Pritam Das, Sayan Ghosh, Biplab Samantray and Dhiraj Singh.

West Zone:

Parthiv Patel (C), Aditya Tare, Shreyas Iyer, Kedar Jadhav, Ankit Bawne, Abhishek Nayar, Irfan Pathan, Rujul Bhatt, Shardul Thakur, Ishwar Chaudhary, Pravin Tambe, Deepak Hooda, Priyank Panchal, Jagdish Zope.

North Zone:

Harbhajan Singh (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Mandeep Singh, Rishabh Pant/Unmukt Chand, AR Pachera, Rishi Dhawan, Mayank Dagar, Parvez Rasool, Umar Nazir, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra.

South Zone:

R Vinay Kumar (C), Vijay Shankar, Tanmay Agarwal, Mayank Agarwal, Vishnu Vinod, Ricky Bhui, Dinesh Karthik, G Hanuma Vihari, Pavan Deshpande, Rahil Shah, M Ashwin, D Swaroop Kumar, VC Milind, Basil Thampi, Sandeep Warrier, Aravind Sreenath.

Central Zone:

Suresh Raina (C), Naman Ojha, Ambati Rayudu, Mahesh Rawat, Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Karn Sharma, Akshdeep Nath, Amandeep Khare, Ankit Rajpoot, Aniket Choudhary, Amit Mishra, Sohraab Dhaliwal, Mahipal Lomror, Shubham Agarwal, Apoorv Wankhade.

Click here to read more about the schedule, live TV coverage and online streaming of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2017 tournament

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2017 16:37:24 IST

Also See