Shashank Manohar elected as independent chairman of ICC, days after resigning from BCCI

Shashank Manohar has been unopposed and unanimously elected as the first independent chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC), after the full council approved the constitutional amendments proposed by the board in April meet, a press release on the ICC website said.

The development comes just a day after Manohar resigned as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president, and he will now begin his two-year term as ICC chairman with immediate effect.

Newly elected ICC chairman Shanshank Manohar. Getty

Newly elected ICC chairman Shanshank Manohar. Getty

“It is an honour to be elected as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council and for that I am thankful to all the ICC directors who have put their faith and trust in my abilities. I also take this opportunity to thank all my colleagues in the BCCI who have supported me during my recent time as the BCCI’s President," Manohar said after his election.

“These are exciting times for international cricket as we are presently carrying out a comprehensive review of the 2014 constitutional amendments which is aimed at not only improving governance structures, but cricket structures as well. The ultimate objective is to grow our sport and engage a whole new generation of fans and I look forward to working with all stakeholders to shape the future of cricket, which has a proud history and rich tradition,” the former BCCI president added.

ICC directors were each allowed to nominate one candidate, who had to be either a present or past ICC director. Nominees with the support of two or more full member directors would have been eligible to contest the election, which was scheduled to have been concluded by 23 May.

However, given that Mr Manohar was the sole nominee for the position and the Board has now unanimously supported his appointment, the independent Audit Committee Chairman, Mr Adnan Zaidi, who has been overseeing the election process, has declared the process complete, and Mr Manohar the successful candidate.

Manohar had served as the BCCI president from 2008-2011. He was re-elected as the BCCI president in October 2015 following the passing of the then incumbent president Jagmohan Dalmiya, and by virtue of that position, had held the role of ICC Chairman since then.

On Wednesday, Manohar had resigned as BCCI president ahead of ICC elections and even gone on to claim he was "forced" to quit the BCCI top job. "I could not work in the present scenario. I don't want to name anyone, but can say I have been forced to resign," Manohar had told Mid-day.

BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur is said to be favourite to succeed Manohar as BCCI president.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: May 13, 2016 08:48:27 IST

Also See