Sponsored by

Second edition of Pro Wrestling League set to commence from 15 December

New Delhi: The second edition of the Pro Wrestling League (PWL) is all set to commence from 15 December and will feature eight teams, which is two more than last year.

Besides increasing the number of teams, PWL on Thursday announced numerous other additions in the upcoming second season like enhancing the players' pool and the duration of the event.

 Second edition of Pro Wrestling League set to commence from 15 December

Mumbai Garuda celebrate with the trophy after their victory over Haryana Hammers in the Pro Wrestling Finals last year. PTI

From the initial draft of 54, the players' pool will now have 80 wrestlers, while the duration of the the multi-city league has been increased from 18 days to one month.

Started with an aim to provide an international platform to the country's talented wrestlers to compete with world's best in India, PWL will now feature over 40 international grapplers as compared to 24 last year.

"Wrestling as a sport has contributed towards the growth of sporting fabric of India. With sterling performances in the last three consecutive Olympics for India, wrestling followers are now becoming more vocal and visible. While local 'Dangals' enjoyed unprecedented live spectators, data suggests that on TV wrestling emerged as the most watched Olympic sport for Indian audience in the last 12 months," said Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.

Kartikeya Sharma, Founder & Promoter, ProSportify (Commercial Partners of PWL) said: "Wrestling is deeply rooted in Indian cultural ethos and is the biggest sporting export from India to the world. We were privileged to enthuse over three crore sports fans every day in Season 1 and promise to surpass our stellar performance in Year 2."

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 13, 2016 18:44:06 IST

Also See