Rio 2016: Sakshi Malik creates history, becomes first Indian woman wrestler to bag Olympic medal

Rio de Janeiro: Sakshi Malik on Thursday scripted history by becoming the first woman wrestler from India to bag an Olympic medal and only fourth female athlete from the country to climb to the podium at the biggest sporting event in the world with a bronze medal finish at the Rio Games.

The 23-year-old from Haryana, a silver medallist at the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games and bronze winner at the 2014 Incheon Asian Games, earned a dramatic come-from-behind win over Kyrgysztan's Aisuluu Tynybekova to script history.

 Rio 2016: Sakshi Malik creates history, becomes first Indian woman wrestler to bag Olympic medal

Sakshi Malik reacts after winning bronze against Aisuluu Tynybekova. AP

Weight-lifter Karnam Malleshwari was the first Indian to win an Olympic medal for India when she won a bronze at the 2000 Sydney Games.

Boxer MC Mary Kom and shuttler Saina Nehwal had won a bronze each at the 2012 London Games.

Overall, Sakshi has won India's fifth wrestling medal in the Olympic Games.

KD Jadhav was the first wrestler from India to win a medal in Olympics with his bronze at the 1952 Helsinki Games.

Sushil Kumar, who missed out of the Rio Games after a controversy, bagged the second wrestling bronze medal at the 2008 Beijing Games before clinching a silver at the London Games where Yogeshwar Dutt also pocketed a bronze.

The inspiring show by Sakshi lifted the gloom that had descended over the Indian contingent that spent 11 days waiting for a medal.

Sakshi finally opened India's account after fellow wrestler Vinesh Phogat bowed out following an unfortunate ligament tear in her right knee during her quarterfinal bout.

It is India's 25th medal in Olympic Games.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Aug 18, 2016 06:42:20 IST