Ranji Roundup: J&K's Khajuria scores ton as Mumbai falter again

Jammu and Kashmir opener Shubham Khajuria compiled his maiden first-class century before former champions Mumbai bounced back to dismiss the visitors for 254 in the first innings on day two of their four-day Group A Ranji Trophy cricket match today.

J&K could take just 18-run first innings lead.

But before close of play, J&K hit back again to reduce the 40-time champions to a miserable 66 for four in the second innings, ahead by only 48 runs with two days left.

Medium pacers Ram Dayal, who picked up three wickets in the first innings with his disciplined bowling, bagged two more in the second, while fellow-seam bowler Umar Nazir claimed the other two Mumbai wickets.

At stumps after an absorbing day's play, Mumbai captain Suryakumar Yadav (17) and night watchman Dhawal Kulkarni (1) were at the crease with seasoned Wasim Jaffer, who suffered a hairline fracture while fielding, left to bat.

 Ranji Roundup: J&Ks Khajuria scores ton as Mumbai falter again

Jammu and Kashmir opener Shubham Khajuria compiled his maiden first-class century before former champions Mumbai bounced back to dismiss the visitors for 254. PTI

In the morning Khajuria, who began the day on 47 with teammate Bandeep Singh (34) in an overnight team score of 88 for one in reply to Mumbai's paltry 236, saw his partner depart in the fourth over.

But Khajuria continued his good work to reach his century with a six over long on off Vishal Dabholkar.

He was run out for a well-made 107 off 215 balls after a six-hour vigil during which he struck four sixes and 12 fours.

His dismissal triggered a dramatic collapse as J&K lost eight wickets for the addition of just 51 runs, including the last five for one run, to be dismissed for 254.

The visitors, sitting pretty at 203 for two soon after lunch when Khajuria was run out by a direct hit at the striker's end stumps, folded up at the stroke of tea with their last five wickets polished off by Mumbai's left arm spinners Dabholkar (3/30) and Iqbal Abdullah (2/47).

Dabholkar took three wickets for one run in nine balls. He also took the wicket of second-best scorer Ian Chauhan (70), who along with Khajuria add 98 for the third wicket.

Mumbai could even have taken the lead if they had held on to their catches. Khajuria was let off on 69 by Dabholkar and on 104 by Jaffer, while Obaid Haroon was also reprieved. (PTI)


Hyderabad vs Andhra - Hyderabad 1st innings 522 allout (Chama Milind 95, Dwaraka Ravi Teja 96; Duvvarapu Sivkumar 4/84) vs Andhra 1st innings 121/0 (KS Bharat 71, DB Prasanth 50).

Assam Vs Tripura - Tripura 1st innings 135(M. Murasingh 47; S Roy 3/6, K Das 3/41) & 2nd innings 2/0 vs Assam 1st innings 275 (Kunal Saikia 64, Jalamuddin Syed Mohammad 51; M. Murasingh 5/70, Abhijit Sarkar 47/3).

Bengal vs Baroda - Bengal 1st innings 455 all-out (Sudip Chatterjee 192, Shreevats Goswami 87; Swapnil Singh 5/99, Munaf Patel 2/75) vs Baroda 1st innings 86/3 (Kedar Devdhar 32 not out, Dhiren Mistry 26; Laxmi Ratan Shukla 4/2, Veer Pratap Singh 39/1).

Delhi vs Saurashtra - Delhi 1st innings 442 allout ( Gautam Gambhir 147,Sumit Narwal 65; Sudeep Tyagi 95/3, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 85/2) vs Saurashtra 1st innings (Divyaraj Chauhan 40 batting, Arpit Vasavada 38; Parwinder Awana 3/20, Rajat Bhatia 3/24).

Karnataka vs Tamil Nadu - Karataka 1st innings 290 all-out (Chidambaram Gautam 94, Kunal Kapoor 87; Jagannathan Kaushik 4/53, M Mohammed 3/80) vs Tamil Nadu 1st innings 240 for five (Abhinav Mukund 84, Ramaswamy Prasanna 51 not out; HS Sharath 2/22, Shreyas Gopal 1/15).

Goa vs Kerala- Goa 1st innings 367 all-out ( Amogh Sunil Desai 75, Darshan Misal 67; Basil Thampi 4/110, Nizar Niyas 3/74) vs Kerala 1st innings 60/2 (KB Pawan 28, Amit Verma 9 not out).

Maharastra vs Odisha - Odisha 1st innings 311 all-out ( Nataraj Behera 66, Biplab Samantray 106; Shrikant Mundhe 4/103, Dominic Joseph 3/57) vs Mahrastra first innings 126 for no loss (Harshad Khadiwale 76 not out, Chirag Khurana 48 not out).

Mumbai vs Jammu and Kashmir - Mumbai 1st innings 236 all out. (Suryakumar Yadav 57; Waseem Raza 3/29, Ram Dayal 3/51) vs Jammu and Kashmir 1st innings- 254 all out (Shubham Khajuria 107, Ian Dev Singh 70; Vishal Dabholkar 3/30, Dhawal Kulkarni 47/2) Mumbai 2nd innings 66/4 (Kevin Almeida 27, Suryakumar Yadav 17 not out; Ram Dayal 2/31, Umar Nazir 2/8).

Punjab vs Haryana- Punjab 1st innings 273 all out ( Yuvraj Singh 59, Amitoze Singh 45; Jayant Yadav 6/85, Amit Mishra 3/72) vs Haryana 1st innings 283 all out ( Jayant Yadav 51 not out, Abhimanyu Khod 42; Rajwinder Singh 3/62, Sarabjit Ladda 3/90) Punjab 2nd innings 21 for no loss (Manah Vohra 11, Jiwanjot Singh 10).

Madhya Pradesh vs Railways - Madhya Pradesh 1st innings 181 all-out (Jalaj Saxena 41 ,Rameez Khan 41; Anureet Singh 5/43) vs Railways 1st innings 253 for 7 (Arindam Ghosh 113 not out, Avinash Yadav 50; Puneet Datey 3/69, Avesh Khan 2/41).

Rajasthan Vs Gujarat - Gujarat 1st innings 340 all-out. (Priyank Kirit Panchal 68, Bhargav Merai 74; Pankaj Singh 3/55, Shailender Gehlot 3/67) vs Rajasthan 1st innings (Arijit gupta 44, Rajesh Bishnoi 36; RB Kalaria 3/47, Ishwar Chaudhury 3/52).

Services vs Himachal Pradesh- Services 1st innings 226 all out. (Deepak Punia 64; Vikramjeet Malik 3/33, Rishi Dhawan 3/57) vs Himachal Pradesh 1st innings 225 for six( Ankush Bains 67, Rashmi Parida 54; Suraj Yadav 2/55, Abhishek Sakuja 2/30).

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Dec 08, 2014 22:52:30 IST