Randhir supporters Tytler, Gehlot withdraw from IOA elections

New Delhi: A day after Randhir Singh withdrew his candidature for the post of Indian Olympic Association President, several of his supporters pulled out of contests for various positions ahead of the elections to be held on 5 December.

Kabaddi Federation of India President J S Gehlot withdrew his candidature for the lone post of senior vice-president, leaving the field clear for Virender Nanavati, who belongs to the faction of Abhay Singh Chautala, to get elected unopposed.

Long-time Judo Federation of India President Jagdish Tytler, National Rifle Association of India chief Raninder Singh and Assam Olympic Association General Secretary Rockybul Hussain also took back their nominations for the posts of vice-presidents.

Judo Federation of India General Secretary Mukesh Kumar also withdrew his nominations for the important post of IOA Secretary General which was earlier held by Randhir.

Jagdish Tytler in this file photo. AFP

Others who withdrew their candidature include Onkar Singh and Sunaina Kumari for Joint Secretary's posts while John Kharshing, Sharda Murdia and Raja Sidhu pulled out of the race for Executive Council Members.

Yesterday, Randhir Singh withdrew from the race for the high-profile IOA president's post, citing International Olympic Committee's warning to disaffiliate India if the polls are held under the government's Sports Code.

That cleared the decks for Abhay Singh Chautala to be elected unopposed for the president's post while also putting an end to the bitter and acrimonious campaign between the rival factions.

Tytler said since the IOA elections will not be recognised by the IOC, holding the polls will not serve any purpose and will only add more confusion.

"Without the recognition of IOC, the new body formed out of this election will have no standing in the international sporting arena. It is ridiculously shocking that a few people are fighting the election to form a powerless, defunct and dummy body, just to feed a few egos," Tytler said in a release.

"At the present degrading level of politics which has unfortunately entered into sports body of India is highly deplorable and unacceptable. I and other like minded people agree that we should not become part of the election which not only neglects the IOA constitution and Olympic Charter but also neglects the interest of sportspersons of India," he said.

"With threat of de-recognition of IOA lurking, we have decided to withdraw nomination from the IOA election in the name of the country and its sportspersons."

Names of those who withdrew their nominations: 1. Janardhan Singh Gehlot (for senior vice-president); 2. Jagdish Tytler (for vice-president); 3. Raninder Singh (for vice-president); 4. Rockybul Hussain (for vice-president); 5. Mukesh Kumar (for Secretary General); 6. Sunaina Kumari (for Joint Secretary); 7. Onkar Singh (for Joint Secretary); 8. J F Kharshing (for Executive Committee member); 9. Avtar Singh Sethi (for Executive Committee member); 10. Sharda Murdia (for Executive Committee member).


Updated Date: Nov 26, 2012 19:43 PM

Also See