Sponsored by

Pakistan veterans Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal dropped from PCB's central contract list

Karachi: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has sent out a clear message to flamboyant all-rounder Shahid Afridi that he did not figure in its future scheme of things by dropping him from the central contract list for 2016/17.

Afridi, a former Test, ODI and T20 captain, was in category A of the last central contracts list but this time he failed to find a place for himself in the list altogether.

The board has also dropped champion off-spinner Saeed Ajmal from the central contract list, although he was retained last time despite being banned from bowling by the ICC in 2014. Ajmal had last played for Pakistan in Bangladesh in April, 2015.

 Pakistan veterans Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal dropped from PCBs central contract list

PCB seems to have slammed all doors shut to the possibility of Shahid Afridi's farewell. AFP

Also dropped from the list is left-arm pacer Junaid Khan.

In the new list announced on Wednesday, leg-spinner Yasir Shah has been promoted to category A while former captains Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik were also retained in top category.

PCB, meanwhile, demoted batsmen Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal to category C.

Although the two would now be considered for national selection again, they were dropped for the tour to England on disciplinary grounds.

Interestingly, PCB has included an uncapped player, left-arm spinner Mohammad Asghar, in category C. Asghar has been playing regularly for the Pakistan A side but is yet to make his debut for the senior team.

A total of 19 players have been given category C contracts.

Even though PCB has not given any pay increase this time but players in the top category will take home a monthly salary of around PKR 5,00,000 besides their match fees and other allowances and bonuses.

Category A: Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Yasir Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan.

Category B: Wahab Riaz, Asad Shafiq, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Aamir.

Category C: Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaan Masood, Mohammad Irfan, Imran Khan Sr, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Hassan Ali, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Zulfiqar Babar, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 27, 2016 21:43:05 IST