Co-presented by

Number Cruncher: All you need to know about the World T20

The fifth edition of ICC World Twenty20 starts today in Bangladesh. The previous four editions of ICC World Twenty20 all had twelve teams participating in the tournament including two associates. However, this time around the format of the tournament is different. The tournament has been expanded to include 16 teams (10 full member nations and six associates).

While Afghanistan, Netherlands and Ireland have played Twenty20 internationals before, Hong Kong, Nepal and UAE will be making their debut in this format at the highest level.

The format of the tournament has been tweaked to have two phases -- a qualifying phase to determine which two teams will join the eight top-ranked sides in the final 'Super 10' stage.

 Number Cruncher: All you need to know about the World T20

Gayle does the gangnam after Windies won the title in 2012. Getty Images

India along with Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies have gained a direct entry to Super 10s.

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe will have to fight it out with six other teams in the first round. The first round will consist of eight teams divided into two groups of four based on their seeding as follows:


In the first round each team will play every other team in its group. Points will be allocated for each match. Following the completion of the first round, the team that finishes first in each group will progress to the Second Round (the Super 10 series).

The team that finishes first in Group A will be placed in Group 2 in the second round, and the team that finishes first in Group B will be placed in Group 1 in the second round.

The second round will consist of ten teams divided into two groups of five based on their seeding as follows:


During the second round, each team will play every other team in its group. Points will be allocated for each match. No points from the first round will be carried forward to the second round.

The top two teams from each group in the second round of the competition will progress to the semi-finals where the team placed first in Group 1 will play the team placed second in Group 2 and the team placed first in Group 2 will play the team placed second in Group 1.

The winners of the semi-finals will contest the final.

Prize money

Winner: $1,100,000
Runner-Up: $ 550,000
Semi-Finalists: $ 275,000 (x2)
Group (R2) Match Win: $ 40,000 (x 20 matches)


South Africa hosted the inaugural event in 2007, which was won by India in a dramatic final against Pakistan at The Wanderers. The tournament will also remembered for Yuvraj Singh hitting six sixes in one over against England and the first-ever Twenty20 international hundred, which was scored by Chris Gayle.

Pakistan won the second edition of the men's tournament, which took place in England in 2009. It defeated Sri Lanka in the final of the event at Lord's, although Tillakaratne Dilshan won the Player of the Tournament Award. Associate Members enjoyed great success with the Netherlands defeating England and Ireland beating Bangladesh.

In 2009, the first ever women's tournament was also held alongside the men's event, with double headers of matches played at the semi-finals and final stage. England won the tournament after defeating New Zealand in the final after an outstanding display by Katherine Brunt.

In 2010, England's men captured its first-ever ICC global title, defeating Australia by seven wickets in the final, while Australia's women won a close final against New Zealand by three runs.

In 2012, while West Indies beat host Sri Lanka by 36 runs to win the men's title, its first ICC trophy since the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004, Australia beat England by four runs to win the women's title.

Previous winners

In 2007, India beat Pakistan by five runs in the final in Johannesberg and two years laters Pakistan got their hands on the trophy by beating Sri Lanka by eight wickets at Lord's. Since then, two non-Asian teams have won the World T20 — England in 2010 after defeating Australia in Bridgetown and West Indies in 2012 by beating Sri Lanka in Colombo.

Total Matches: 108
Won by side batting first: 57
Won by side batting second: 45
Ties: 3
No result: 3











There's been only one hat-trick: Brett Lee (3-27) during Australia v Bangladesh in Cape Town on 16 September 2007. He dismissed Shakib Al Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza and Alok Kapali.





Most appearances

Kamran Akmal (Pak): 26
Shahid Afridi (Pak): 26
TM Dilshan (SL): 25
DPMD Jayawardene (SL): 25
SL Malinga (SL): 25
KC Sangakkara (SL): 25



Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 18, 2014 09:45:44 IST