Leicester, Tottenham players dominate PFA Premier League team of the year

London, United Kingdom: Title contenders Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur provided eight players in the Professional Footballers' Association Premier League team of the year announced Thursday.

Leicester, who currently lead the league by five points from second-placed Spurs, provided four players in skipper Wes Morgan, N'Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and England striker Jamie Vardy,

PFA Team of the Year. Image Courtesy: PFA Twitter

PFA Team of the Year. Image Courtesy: PFA Twitter

Tottenham too had a quartet of their own in the line-up with Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane, Vardy's England strike partner, all selected by their fellow players in the English top flight.

Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin and West Ham United playmaker Dimitri Payet completed the notional XI.

Arsenal's Mesut Ozil was the only nominee for the PFA player of the year award not to make it into the side.

PFA team of the year: David de Gea (Manchester United); Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Danny Rose (Tottenham); Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Dele Alli (Tottenham), N'Golo Kante (Leicester), Dimitri Payet (West Ham); Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Updated Date: Apr 22, 2016 18:57 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See