La Liga fixtures: 2019/20 season set to begin on 17 August, first El Clasico scheduled to be played at Camp Nou in October

The calendar for the 2019/20 season of the La Liga was made on Thursday at the RFEF offices. The season will get underway on the weekend of 17 August with Celta Vigo hosting a significantly revamped Real Madrid. Defending champions Barcelona have been handed a stiff ask on the first matchday itself with a trip to Athletic Bilbao. The season is slated to draw to a close on 24 May.

 La Liga fixtures: 2019/20 season set to begin on 17 August, first El Clasico scheduled to be played at Camp Nou in October

Representational image. Reuters

The first high profile clash featuring Real Madrid and Barcelona will be played on 27 October at the Camp Nou. The reverse fixture at the Bernabeu will be played on 1 March.

Real Valladolid, Real Sociedad and Real Madrid had sought permission to play first few games of the season away to finish work at respective stadiums. But, Real Valladolid and Real Madrid play each other in week two. There is no decision on who will cede.

Promoted teams Osasuna, Real Mallorca and Granada play Leganés, Eibar and Villarreal respectively in their first games back in the top flight.

With 100,000 possibilities for the 38 matchdays calendar, numbers were drawn by Athletic Bilbao president Aitor Elizegi; former defender José Santamaría, referee Alberto Undiano Mallenco, Real Sociedad's U-19 team members and the La Liga's first female official Guadalupe Porras Ayuso, which were then run through a computer program.

Unlike previous seasons, fixtures this season will not be symmetrical and that means the second half of the season will not be a complete reverse of the first half.

99% of the draw was made using software. The rest was drawn manually in order to avoid high-risk games at certain times and to avoid El Clasicos being played too early or late in the season. Additionally, the manual picks also allowed teams to play close to home ahead of the Christmas break.

Key Dates:

Matchday 1 fixtures (17-18 August):
Celta Vigo vs Real Madrid
Real Mallorca vs Eibar
Atletico Madrid vs Getafe
Espanyol vs Sevilla
Deportivo Alavés vs Levante
Valencia vs Real Sociedad
Real Betis vs Real Valladolid
Leganés vs Osasuna
Athletic Bilbao vs Barcelona
Villarreal vs Granada

Final matchday fixtures (24 May 2020):
Leganés vs Real Madrid
Sevilla vs Valencia
Espanyol vs Celta Vigo
Levante vs Getafe
Deportivo Alavés vs Barcelona
Villarreal vs Eibar
Granada vs Athletic Bilbao
Osasuna vs Mallorca
Atlético Madrid vs Real Sociedad
Real Valladolid vs Real Betis

Barcelona vs Real Madrid: 27 October
Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid: 1 March

Madrid derby:
Atletico Madrid vs Real Madrid: 29 September
Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid: 2 February

Seville derby:
Real Betis vs Sevilla: 10 November
Sevilla vs Real Betis: 15 March

Basque derby:
Athletic Bilbao vs Real Sociedad: 1 September
Real Sociedad vs Athletic Bilbao: 9 February

Catalan derby:
Espanyol vs Barcelona: 5 January
Barcelona vs Espanyol: 10 May

Valencia derby:
Levante vs Valencia: 8 December
Valencia vs Levante: 15 March

Updated Date: Jul 04, 2019 18:22:05 IST