Kapil Dev to be honoured with CK Nayudu Lifetime Award

India's first World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev will be conferred the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award for the year 2013 at the annual BCCI awards function, the Board's announced today.

The award's committee comprising BCCI President N Srinivasan, Sanjay Patel (Hony. Secretary) and Ayaz Memon (Senior Journalist) met in Chennai today to nominate a winner and unanimously zeroed in on the legendary all-rounder's name.

"Mr. Kapil Dev Nikhanj will receive the Col C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, which comprises a trophy, citation and a cheque for Rs 25 lakhs, at the BCCI Awards Ceremony for the year 2012-13, the details of which will be announced soon," the Indian cricket board's secretary Sanjay Patel said in a release today.

 Kapil Dev to be honoured with CK Nayudu Lifetime Award

He played 225 ODIs, in which he took 253 wickets and scored 3,783 runs. Getty Images

One of the greatest all-rounders of all-time, Dev played 131 Tests for India taking 434 wickets, record at one time. He was the first player to complete 5,000 runs and 400 wickets in Tests.

He played 225 ODIs, in which he took 253 wickets and scored 3,783 runs.

His most memorable contribution to Indian cricket was the victory in the 1983 World Cup. As captain, Dev led from the front, with bat, ball and in the field.

Dev, who had joined the now-defunct Indian Cricket League (ICL) back in 2007, was banned by the BCCI for being a part of unsanctioned league.

But last year Dev and the Indian cricket board buried the hatchet after the former cricketer resigned from the ICL. The Board welcomed him back with immediate effect disbursing his one-time benefit payment of Rs 1.5 crore.

The Col. C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award, named after India's first Test captain, is given to individuals whose contribution to Indian cricket, on and off the field, is unparallel.

Previous winners of the award are:

1994 – Lala Amarnath
1995 – Syed Mushtaq Ali
1996 – Capt. Vijay Hazare
1997 – K N Prabhu
1998 – P R Umrigar
1999 – Col. Hemachandra Adhikari
2000 – Subhash Gupte
2001 – Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi
2002 – Bhausaheb Nimbalkar
2003 – Chandrakant Borde
2004 – B S Bedi, B Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, S Venkataraghvan
2007 – Nariman Contractor
2008 – Gundappa Viswanath
2009 – Mohinder Amarnath
2010 – Salim Durani
2011 – Ajit Wadekar
2012 – Sunil Gavaskar.


Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Dec 19, 2013 11:43:12 IST