ISL, I-League clubs' refusal to participate in Indian Women's League leaves AIFF in spot of bother

New Delhi: The Indian Super League (ISL) and I-League teams have refused to compete in the Second Indian Women's League (IWL), leaving All India Football Federation (AIFF) in the lurch.

Representational photo. Getty Images

Representational photo. Getty Images

The AIFF claimed the franchises had earlier promised participation in the IWL.

When contacted, AIFF general secretary Kushal Das told PTI: It's extremely disappointing that despite assurances, we haven't got any entry from either any ISL or I-League club.

Hopefully, they will understand the importance of women's football and rethink about their participation in the sole women's league in the country, he added.

The format of the IWL grants a direct entry to ISL and I-League clubs in the final round of the IWL but so far none have confirmed their participation.

However, cost is a major factor which might have prevented all these major Indian clubs to have an exclusive women's football team.

Das further informed that AIFF was contemplating participation in the IWL as part of the AIFF licensing criteria for teams to take up women's football on a more serious note.

The inaugural edition of the IWL had kicked off in January 2017 in New Delhi where eight teams, including one ISL team FC Pune City, competed.

Manipur's Eastern Sporting Union had won the inaugural edition of IWL.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 15, 2018 15:53:54 IST

Also See