ISL 2016: When does it start, where to watch live on TV and online coverage

The Indian Super League is back for its third edition, and it kicks off on 1 October in Guwahati at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium. The first match is between home side NorthEast United FC and Kerala Blasters FC at 7 pm.

Given the North East region’s passion for the beautiful game of football and recognising their contribution to the sport by inaugurating the 2016 season in Assam is a great way to commence the league.

The Indian Super League trophy. Image courtesy: Indian Super League official website

The Indian Super League trophy. Image courtesy: Indian Super League official website

Beginning Saturday, the eight clubs will fight for supremacy over the next 79 days in a home and away league format, followed by knockout matches. After a total of 56 matches in the group stage of the league, the top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals.

The first leg of the semi-finals will be played on 10 and 11 December and the second leg on 13 and 14 December. The final of the football extravaganza will be held on 18 December.

Defending champions Chennaiyin FC start their title defence against the winners of the opening season, Atletico de Kolkata on Sunday. All the eight clubs have undergone major changes over the last few months and are geared up for another quest to be crowned champions.

This year, the iconic Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata will not host any matches due to renovations for the U-17 Fifa World Cup that India will be hosting in 2017. Instead, Atletico de Kolkata will play their home games at the Rabindra Sarovar Stadium. Mumbai City FC will also have a new home, playing their matches at the Mumbai Football Arena (Andheri Sports Complex) and not the DY Patil Stadium.

The eight clubs and the venues:

Chennaiyin FC - Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

Atletico de Kolkata - Rabindra Sarovar Stadium

NorthEast United FC - Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium

Kerala Blasters - Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

FC Pune City - Balewadi Stadium

Mumbai City FC - Andheri Sports Complex

Delhi Dynamos - Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

FC Goa - Fatorda Stadium

ISL 2016 Schedule:

The complete list of the fixtures for the third season of ISL can be downloaded here.

ISL 2016 Fixtures

When and where to watch the matches:

All the matches kick off at 7 PM IST (1:30 PM GMT) and will be broadcast on the Star Network in India. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports HD1 are the sports channels which will be home to all ISL matches. You can also catch all the action online on

Read more: Marquee signings, team news and fixtures for all eight clubs of ISL

Updated Date: Sep 30, 2016 18:29 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See