ISL 2016: Champions Chennaiyin announce squad sans star player Stiven Mendoza for new season

Chennai: Indian Super League (ISL) champions Chennaiyin FC launched their squad ahead of the third edition of the League.

Head coach Marco Materazzi, the coaching staff and all the players including marquee player John Arne Riise addressed the local media at a press conference.

Chennaiyin FC squad for 2016 ISL season. Twitter@ChennaiyinFC

Chennaiyin FC squad for 2016 ISL season. Twitter@ChennaiyinFC

"We are all happy to be back in Chennai. We have enjoyed fantastic support in the first two seasons and are looking forward to defend the title. We all know how difficult it was for our people in Chennai last year during the floods. I know winning the trophy didn't solve their problems but we played for them and will try our best to keep the trophy in Chennai," Materazzi said.


Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh, Pawan Kumar, Duwayne Kerr (Jamaica).

Defenders: Abhishek Das, Mehrajuddin Wadoo, Dhanachandra Singh, Nallappan Mohanraj, Jerry Lalrinzuala (developmental player), Eli Sabia (Brazil), Eder Monteiro (Brazil), Bernard Mendy (France), John Arne Riise (Norway).

Midfielders: Raphael Augusto (Brazil), Hans Mulder (Netherlands), Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Dhanpal Ganesh, Zakeer Mundampara, Siam Hanghal, Baljit Sahni, Thoi Singh, Anirudh Thapa (developmental player), Bodo Baoringdao (developmental player), Bedashwor Singh (developmental player), Manuele Blasi (Italy).

Forwards: David Succi (Italy), Maurizio Peluso (Italy), Prosenjit Chakraborty (developmental player), Uttam Rai (developmental player), Jayesh Rane, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Dudu Omagbemi (Nigeria).

Updated Date: Sep 29, 2016 22:46 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See