Co-presented by

IPL spot fixing: Sreesanth is innocent until proven guilty, says Shashi Tharoor

As news broke that pace bowler S Sreesanth was arrested along with batsman Ankeet Chavan and all rounder Ajit Chandilia were the three Rajasthan Royals players arrested, the mood in Kerala is one of disbelief, with even Shashi Tharoor speaking out in support of him.

Congress Minister Shashi Tharoor was quoted by local media channels as saying he believed Sreesanth is innocent until proven guilty.

 IPL spot fixing: Sreesanth is innocent until proven guilty, says Shashi Tharoor

Image courtesy BCCI

"You know there is a maxim that one is innocent untill one is proven guilty. So let us not judge his guilt untill the proof has been provided, the courts have gone through the process, his defence is heard. I'm not prepared to condemn him untill there is a conlusive determination of guilt. All I can say that it is a very sad day for those of us who like Sreesanth and his contribution to cricket", he was quoted as saying.

Most local television channels in the state tended to support Sreesanth and his possible innocence.

Local television channels also spoke to the former India player's family, who maintained that there was no chance that he would have done something like this, especially given the fact that he was looking forward to making a come back into the national test and ODI side. They allege that he has been trapped.

The police has also arrested three bookies in Delhi and are on the lookout for two more.

A case has been registered at the Marine Drive police station against all three arrested players under charges of IPC sections 420 (for cheating) and 120 (b) (for conspiracy). Chavan and Chandilia were arrested from the team hotel straight after their match with the Mumbai Indians.

There are no details of the case registered against Sreesanth, who was picked up from a friends house in Delhi.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: May 16, 2013 10:51:46 IST