IPL 2017: When and where to watch opening ceremony, coverage on TV and live streaming

The 10th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) starts on Wednesday, marking a decade of scandal and success for the flashy Twenty20 competition beloved by India and watched across the globe.

Representative photo. Image courtesy: IPL via Twitter

Representative photo. Image courtesy: IPL via Twitter

The latest edition of the glitzy league — famous for its pyrotechnics, cheerleaders and huge signing bonuses — gets underway with defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad hosting Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Since its debut in 2008, the shorter-format league has evolved into India's most popular sporting event, filling stadiums and attracting TV audiences well beyond that enjoyed by Test and one-day competitions in the cricket-mad subcontinent.

"Its unique selling proposition is that most of the stadiums are packed, and it is being watched around the world," IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla told AFP.

Despite a litany of off-field troubles, the league has never struggled to attract foreign talent.

A host of international stars have become household names in India, shaping their careers on the IPL stage or resurrecting former glories.

While Royal Challengers Bangalore captain and run-machine Virat Kohli will be absent for the opening week of the competition, big hitters abound such as Kohli's teammate Chris Gayle and Sunrisers' David Warner.

The tournament ends on 21 May with the final in Hyderabad.

What venues will IPL be hosted at?

IPL 2017 will be played at several venues across India — Mohali’s IS Bindra Stadium (Kings XI Punjab), Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai Indians), Kolkata’s Eden Gardens (Kolkata Knight Riders), Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla Ground (Delhi Daredevils), Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Rajkot’s Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium (Gujarat Lions), Pune’s Maharashtra Cricket Association's International Stadium (Rising Pune Supergiant) and Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Royal Challengers Bangalore). Additionally, Kings XI Punjab will also play three matches at Indore’s Holkar Cricket Stadium while Gujarat Lions will play two matches at Kanpur’s Green Park.

Catch the live updates of Match 2 of IPL 2017 between Rising Pune Supergiant and Mumbai Indians here

How do I watch IPL 2017 live?

The matches will be broadcast live on TV by Sony Network.

What time does the live coverage of IPL 2017 start?

The live broadcast of the day matches will start at 4 PM IST, while the evening games begin at 8 PM IST.

Where can you follow IPL 2017 matches online?

The IPL 2017 will be streamed online on Hotstar.

What time will Wednesday's opening ceremony start and how to see it...

The opening ceremony on Wednesday will start at 6:30pm on Sony Six. The Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad match will follow.

What about the other opening ceremonies?

Since this season there are eight opening ceremonies, the remaining seven will be held in this order: 5 April: Sunrisers Hyderabad, 6 April: Rising Pune Supergiant, 7 April: Gujarat Lions, 8 April: Kings XI Punjab (4 PM match), 8 April: Royal Challengers Bangalore (8 PM match), 9 April: Mumbai Indians, 13 April: Kolkata Knight Riders,  15 April: Delhi Daredevils.

You can also check out the live blogs on www.firstpost.com, for all the latest action during matches apart from live scores, updates and analysis.

(With inputs from AFP)

Updated Date: Apr 06, 2017 19:11 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See