IPL 2017: Mahela Jayawardene takes a dig at umpires, wants opposition to take MI wickets

Despite winning their Indian Premier League match against Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai Indians coach Mahela Jayawardene was an angry man at the post-match press conference on Sunday.

 IPL 2017: Mahela Jayawardene takes a dig at umpires, wants opposition to take MI wickets

File picture of Mahela Jayawardene. AP

The Sri Lankan great was so peeved at umpiring howlers, which also marred his side’s opener against Rising Pune Supergiant, that he took a sarcastic dig at the officials. “It happens. It is not in our control. I don’t think anyone makes those mistakes. But (I) wish for a change that the opposition can take our wickets,” he told the media after the match.

Jayawardene’s fury was fuelled by two dubious calls on Sunday. Opener Jos Buttler was given out LBW while batting on 28 even though the ball was clearly missing the leg stump when Ankit Rajpoot’s delivery hit him on his pads.

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma also was given out leg-before by on-field umpire CK Nandan despite a massive inside edge. The Indian cricketer made angry gestures in the direction of the umpires, even showing his bat in Nandan’s direction. The actions earned Sharma a reprimand from the match referee for showing dissent to the umpires.

According to a source, the Board of Control for Cricket in India has also cognizance of the bad umpiring and may take some action.

In MI’s match against Pune also, Buttler was at the receiving end of an erroneous decision. The umpire failed to spot an inside edge onto Butler’s pads and he was given out.

In that match, Mumbai also benefited from poor umpiring as Kieron Pollard got a reprieve when he was trapped plumb by Imran Tahir. In this case, MS Dhoni was handed a reprimand for showing the DRS sign after the umpire turned down the appeal.

The poor umpiring also irked Subramaniam Badrinath who lashed out at the umpiring on Twitter.

Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan was also annoyed by the decisions.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Apr 10, 2017 17:56:12 IST

Also See