IPL 2016, Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab Match 7 at Feroz Shah Kotla as it happened

Toggle between the tabs above for the live scorecard and commentary.

PREVIEW: Having lost their respective opening matches, Delhi Daredevils (DD) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will aim to return to winning ways when they face each other in an Indian Premier League (IPL) clash at the Ferozshah Kotla Stadium in New Delhi on Friday.

Delhi, the perennial under-achievers of the IPL, were thrashed by nine wickets by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Eden Gardens. The Delhi batsmen were guilty of poor shot selection on a spinning track and were bundled out for a mere 98 runs after being asked to bat first.

Kings XI Punjab skipper David Miller. Sportzpics/IPL

Kings XI Punjab skipper David Miller. Sportzpics/IPL

Punjab on the other hand, was torn apart by a whirlwind innings from Aaron Finch and went down to newcomers Gujarat Lions by five wickets.

Openers Murali Vijay and Manan Vohra had given them a promising start. But the middle-order batsmen could not built on it. A 22-ball 33 by Marcus Stoinis lower down the order helped Punjab put up a competitive total of 161 for nine.

The Punjab bowlers also need to pull up their socks. Former Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson was a shadow of his former self while Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Pradeep Sahu and Marcus Stoinis also conceeded plenty of runs.


Delhi Daredevils: Zaheer Khan (c), Amit Mishra, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammad Shami, Saurabh Tiwary, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Agarwal, Jayant Yadav, Travis Head, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Imran Tahir, JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Sanju Samson, Carlos Brathwaite, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Joel Paris, Sam Billings, Chama Milind, Pratyush Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Saeed Khaleel Ahmed, Akhil Herwadkar, Pawan Suyal.

Kings XI Punjab: David Miller (c), Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Manan Vohra, Murali Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Johnson, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Kyle Abbott, KC Cariappa, Marcus Stoinis, Farhaan Behardien, Pradeep Sahu, Armaan Jaffer, Swapnil Singh.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 16, 2016 03:06:07 IST

Also See