India's Jeev Milkha Singh, Ajeetesh Sandhu, Shiv Kapur disappoint at Shot Clock Masters

Atzenbrugg: In a disappointing finish for the country at the Shot Clock Masters, the three Indians in the fray — Ajeetesh Sandhu (77-70), Jeev Milkha Singh (82-82) and Shiv Kapur (79, withdrawn) — have missed the halfway cut.


File image of Jeev Milkha Singh. AFP

In this new format, Shot Clock' every player is on the clock for every shot. Players are penalised a stroke if they do not play their shot in the allotted time.

The official European Tour shot time allowances will be in force: a 50 second allowance for a first to play approach shot (including a par three tee shot), chip or putt and a 40-second allowance for a tee shot on a par four or par five, or second or third to play approach shot, chip or putt.

However, each player can call for a time-extension up to twice in any one round, allowing a further 40 seconds over and above the above allowances to play the shot in question.

Mikko Korhonen produced a big finish to sign for a flawless 67 and take a one-shot lead into the weekend.

The Finn earned his stripes on the European Tour the hard way, making 12 trips to the Qualifying School - winning the Final Stage in 2014 and keeping his card in every season since. He is still searching for a first European Tour win.

Korhonen birdied three of his last four holes to stay bogey-free for the week and get to nine under, one shot clear of England's Steve Webster and South African Justin Walters.

Local hero Matthias Schwab, 2016 champion Wu Ashun, veteran Spaniard Miguel ngel Jimnez and Dane Jeppe Pape Huldahl were then two shots off the lead.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Jun 09, 2018 18:44:43 IST

Also See