Indian women thrash Sri Lanka by 9 wickets, inflict T20 series whitewash

Ranchi: The Indian women's cricket team dished out a clinical performance to thrash Sri Lanka by nine
wickets in the third and final Twenty20 International and complete a 3-0 series whitewash, here on Friday.

Asked to bowl, India restricted Sri Lanka to 89-9 and t

Indian women thrash Sri Lanka by 9 wickets, inflict T20 series whitewash

India's Smriti Mandhana top scored with unbeaten 43. Getty

hen overwhelmed the target in just 13.5 overs, reaching 91 for the loss of just one wicket.

Sri Lanka's decision to bat first backfired as only four batters — Eshani Lokusuriyage (25 not out), Chamari Atapattu (21), Ama Kanchana (17) and Nipuni Hansika (13) — reached double digits against a disciplined Indian bowling attack.

Left-arm orthodox Ekta Bisht (3/17) was the pick of the bowlers, while Anuja Patil (2/19) also chipped in with two wickets. The Indians were also sharp on the field, inflicting two runs outs.

Later opening duo of Smriti Mandhana, who made run-a-ball unbeaten 43, and Vellaswamy Vanitha (34 off 25) got India's chase off to a flier, notching up 64 quick runs in just 52 balls.

After such a flying start, Vanitha's dismissal hardly bothered the Indians as Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy (13 not out) knocked off the remaining runs without much trouble.

The BCCI has congratulated the members of the Indian women's cricket team for their 3-0 series win against Sri Lanka.

Board President Shashank Manohar said: "The women's team has done consistently well, in recent times with T20I series win against Australia in Australia and now against Sri Lanka at home. I would like to congratulate captain Mithali Raj for the consistent show by her team and I hope that the Indian women's team would continue to build the momentum for the ICC World T20 2016." PTI

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 27, 2016 11:49:06 IST

Also See