Co-presented by

Indian Sports Ministry told to form organising committee for FIFA U-17 World Cup

New Delhi: The Indian government on Wednesday set the ball rolling for hosting the U-17 World Cup next year by authorising the Sports Ministry to constitute an organising committee for smooth conduct of the event, while giving its stamp of approval to the changes suggested by FIFA's inspection team.

The Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, discussed some key issues regarding the tournament and gave its approval.

"The Sports Ministry has been authorised to constitute Organising Committee, for conduct of the event," a ministry release stated.

 Indian Sports Ministry told to form organising committee for FIFA U-17 World Cup

FIFA officials during an inspection at the Ambedkar Stadium. Getty Images

The venues earmarked were JLN Stadium in New Delhi, DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, JLN Stadium in Kochi, Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, JLN Stadium in Goa and IG Stadium in Guwahati.

A committee comprising Secretary, Department of Sports, DG, SAI and Financial Adviser, Deptt. of Sports has been authorised to make necessary adjustments for any changes in venues to remove difficulties in consultation with All India Football Federation and FIFA.

"Expenditure towards overlays and equipment including display boards, etc. may be incurred. The total cost, however, will be within Rs.95 crore as approved earlier," the sports minsitry said.

In the eventuality of any additional requirement of funds, Department of Sports will take up the matter with the Department of Expenditure.

The world football governing body FIFA's inspection team was satisfied with the planning aspect of India's preparations for next year's Under-17 World Cup but said that major renovation work needs to be done in most of the six stadia to be compliant with international standards.


Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 23, 2016 19:53:56 IST