India vs England: Yuvraj Singh recalled into Virat Kohli-led squads for ODIs, T20Is

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday announced India's squad for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against England, with Virat Kohli officially getting appointed as captain of the limited-overs team, while Yuvraj Singh earned a callback into the national side.

File photo of Yuvraj Singh. PTI

File photo of Yuvraj Singh. PTI

Prodigious wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant earned his maiden international call-up as well getting named in the T20I squad, while veteran Yuvraj found a spot in the squads for both formats. MS Dhoni, who recently stepped down as the limited-overs skipper to make way for Kohli to take up leadership in all formats, was also named in both squads.

The two sides meet in the first one-dayer at Pune's Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium on 15 January, which will then be followed by the second and third matches at Cuttack and Kolkata on 19th and 22nd of this month.

The three ODIs will then be followed by as many T20Is at Kanpur, Nagpur and Bengaluru respectively, the last of which will take place on 1 February. England are slated to play two warm-up matches on Tuesday and Thursday against India A.

The India A team for first warm-up tie will be lead by MS Dhoni and includes Shikhar Dhawan, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadvav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, and Siddharth Kaul. The team for the second warm-up tie includes Rishabh Pant, Suresh Raina, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Kishan, Sheldon Jackson, V Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem, Parvez Rasool, Vinay Kumar, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashoke Dinda and will be captained by Ajinkya Rahane.

The upcoming fixtures against England will be India's only limited-overs international assignments until the Champions Trophy that takes place later this year, which means the current holders of the trophy don't have much practice in the 50-over format before their defence of the title. The current No 1 Test team face Bangladesh in a one-off Test starting 8 February, before taking on Australia in a four-Test series that will go on till the end of March. The 10th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will then occupy the Indian cricket team's schedule for the next two months.

India ODI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

India T20I squad: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat KOhli(c), MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

Updated Date: Jan 06, 2017 16:42 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See