India vs Bangladesh, stats review: From Virat Kohli’s double tons to Ravichandran Ashwin's 250th Test wicket

India defeated Bangladesh in the one-off Test match at Hyderabad by 208 runs. The margin of loss for Bangladesh may look massive but the visitors fought hard till the last day and played more than 100 overs in both the innings of the Test and showed their real character. Mushfiqur Rahim led from the front as he scored a century in the first innings for Bangladesh but rest of the batsmen except from Mehedi Hasan and Mahmudullah did not bat up to their potential.

Virat Kohli raises a wicket to acknowledge the applause from the crowd after their win over Bangladesh. AP

Virat Kohli raises a wicket to acknowledge the applause from the crowd after their win over Bangladesh. AP

For India, this was just another Test as Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin again broke and created many records. It was an important game for both Wriddhiman Saha and Ajinkya Rahane and both played exceptionally well — the former scored a century while the letter missed out on a ton by just 18 runs in the first innings. The Saurashtra duo of Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja also continued their form along with Indian pace trio of Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The litmus Test for India lies ahead when they will face Australia in the four-Test series, starting from 23 February at Pune. Here's a look at some interesting numbers from the Test match between India and Bangladesh.

Bangladesh became the ninth side to play a Test in India. It took Bangladesh 16 years and 92 days to play a Test in India after their maiden Test. Kohli won the toss and chose to bat first and dropped Karun Nair, who had scored a triple century against England in the last Test match at Chennai. He became the second player after Andrew Sandham to be dropped for the next Test after scoring a triple century in the previous one. Sandham scored a triple century in 1930 at Kingston and he was then dropped in the next Test.

Pujara scored 83 runs in the first innings of the Test and during his innings, he broke the record of Chandu Borde of scoring most runs in an Indian First-Class season. Pujara has now scored 1659 runs in this season at an average of 92.17. Borde scored 1604 runs at an average of 64.16 in 1964-65 from 21 matches.


Murali Vijay scored his ninth century in this Test, which is also the joint third-most by an Indian opener in the longest format. Sunil Gavaskar scored 33 centuries while opening the innings for India in Tests, which is a record. Vijay added 178 runs for the second wicket with Pujara, and this was their fifth century stand of this season. This is now the joint second-most by a pair in a Test season. Matthew Hayden and Ricky Ponting scored seven century stands in 2005/06 which is the most by any pair in a Test season.


Kohli scored his ninth century as Indian captain and he is now the second in the list of most centuries scored in Tests by Indian captains, along with Mohammad Azharuddin. Gavaskar had scored 11 centuries as an Indian captain in Tests, which is a record. This century was Kohli’s seventh century at home in Tests, and overall it was his 16th Test century. Kohli has now scored a century against all the seven opponents he has played against in Tests. He is yet to play a Test against Pakistan and Zimbabwe.


Kohli became the first batsman to score a double century in four consecutive Test series. Don Bradman and Rahul Dravid scored a double century in three consecutive Test series. This was the Indian captain's fourth double century in Tests, which is now the joint second-most by any captain in Tests. Among Indian players, only Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar and Dravid are ahead of him in the list of scoring most double hundreds in Tests.


Kohli also leads the chart of scoring most Test double centuries in a season. He has scored a double century in this season against New Zealand (at Indore), England (at Mumbai) and now against Bangladesh (at Hyderabad). Bradman and Dravid also scored three Test double centuries in a season.


Kohli has scored 1206 runs at an average of 86.14 in this season, which is the third most by an Indian player in a season in Tests. Gautam Gambhir scored 1269 runs at an average of 84.60 in 2008/09 which is the most by an Indian player in a Test season. However, Kohli now holds the record of scoring most runs in a home season in Tests. He broke the record of Sehwag, who scored 1105 runs in 2004/05 season.


Mushfiqur Rahim scored a century in the first innings, and he became the first Bangladeshi batsman to score two centuries against India in Tests. He also became the fourth Bangladeshi batsman to score 3000 runs in Tests after Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and Habibul Bashar. He has now scored third most centuries in Tests among Bangladeshi batsmen.


Ashwin achieved yet another landmark when he took the wicket of Rahim in the first innings. He is now the fastest to take 250 Test wickets and the second fastest to achieve the feat in terms of innings after Muttiah Muralitharan. Ashwin broke Dennis Lillee's record, who had taken 250 wickets in 48 Tests.


Ashwin has taken the second-least number of days to take 250 wickets in Tests. Graeme Swann had taken 1809 days to take 250 Test wickets, which is a record. Ashwin is now the fastest Indian to take 50, 100, 150, 200 and 250 wickets in Tests.


This was India’s 19th consecutive Test without a defeat, and this places them fifth in the list of most unbeaten consecutive Test matches. West Indies had the best streak among all the teams. They did not lose a single Test for 27 matches between January 1982 and December 1984.


This was 19th consecutive Test without a defeat for India under the captaincy of Kohli, which is also a record. India went unbeaten for 18 consecutive Tests under the captaincy of Gavaskar from January 1976 to January 1980. This was India’s 20th consecutive Test without a defeat at home which is the joint longest streak for India at home.


Kohli is also joint second in the list of most match wins in his first 23 Tests as a captain. Only Steve Waugh as skipper has won more Tests than him in his career’s first 23 Tests.


This was India’s sixth series win in a row, which is the team's longest stretch of series wins. This streak started against Sri Lanka with a 2-1 win in 2015, India then beat South Africa at home by 3-0, West Indies 2-0 away, New Zealand 3-0 at home and England 4-0 at home before this win over Bangladesh.


Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 14, 2017 17:09:21 IST

Also See