India name strong list of probables for Puerto Rico friendly in Mumbai

New Delhi: India on Thursday named a 28-strong list of probables for the upcoming international friendly against Puerto Rico which is scheduled to be played in Mumbai on 3 September.

This will be the first ever official international match in Mumbai in 61 years since India last played USSR in 1955.

This is also the first time ever that a team from the CONCACAF region will be officially playing in India. Puerto Rico are placed 114th in the FIFA Rankings in comparison to India at 152.

File photo of Indian football team in training. AIFF

File photo of Indian football team in training. AIFF

"It's a hugely important match for the people in Maharashtra that International Football is back in Mumbai after a long gap. Mumbai, as vibrant as ever, has been known for its Football culture and I hope the Indian fans will be turning up to support and cheer from the Stands. It's important that we have a good crowd," India coach Stephen Constantine told

"The buzz in Mumbai is something that the Team is looking forward to. Personally for me, all the cosmopolitan Cities of the Country should be ready to host the National Team, he added.

Constantine said all the players would be reporting to the camp on 28 August with practice sessions beginning next day.

Commenting on Puerto Rico, the coach maintained that it would be an "extremely tough" match.

"Puerto Rico were the best movers in the FIFA Rankings in July 2016. I have been watching some of their matches and they boast about a lot of Players who play in quality Leagues all over the World including Europe and the USA," he stated.

"They are a country similar to Guam. It was an American colony and are a very good side. It will be a very tough game and we hope we can put up a good performance."


Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh

Defenders: Rino Anto, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Keegan Pereira, Chinglensana Singh, Pritam Kotal, Narayan Das, Fulganco Cardozo.

Midfielders: Vinit Rai, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Dhanpal Ganesh, Pronay Halder, Jackichand Singh, Isaac Vanmalsawma, Bikash Jairu, Udanta Singh, Halicharan Narzary, Rowlin Borges, Alwyn George, Germanpreet Singh, Md Rafique, Arjun Tudu.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Aug 25, 2016 18:21:04 IST

Also See