ICC WT20: Sri Lanka name Mathews as captain, call in Thirimanne, Lakmal for Vandersay, Dickwella

Colombo, Sri Lanka: Defending champions Sri Lanka on Tuesday announced two last-minute changes to its World Twenty 20 squad after new selectors were appointed.

It named Angelo Mathews as the new skipper and dropped Jeffrey Vandersay and Niroshan Dickwella, replacing them with Lahiru Thirimanne and Suranga Lakmal, despite not being a part of Sri Lanka's Asia Cup squad.

Lahiru Thirimanne. Getty Images

Lahiru Thirimanne. Getty Images

The management had earlier asked Malinga to resign as captain after a spate of injuries relegated him to a non-playing captain.  The pacer eventually stepped down yesterday owing to slow recovery from a knee injury, which forced him to miss most of the recent Asia Cup. However, he remains a part of the Sri Lankan squad for the tournament.

A panel of selectors headed by former Test player Aravinda de Silva that also included Kumar Sangakkara, was appointed just hours before the team was due to leave for India.

Sri Lanka's new 15-man squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (Vice captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake and Lasith Malinga.

With Agency Inputs

Updated Date: Mar 08, 2016 17:10 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See