ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2017: A guide to the format, tournament groups and points table

The 2017 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier is an international women's cricket tournament that is currently being held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, from 7 to 21 February 2017. It is the final stage of the qualification process for the 2017 World Cup in England to be held in June-July, 2017. The tournament is the fourth edition of the World Cup Qualifiers, and the first to be held in Sri Lanka.

The captains of the ten teams competing in the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2017. Image courtesy: ICC website

The captains of the ten teams competing in the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2017. Image courtesy: ICC website

Ten teams are participating in this tournament, and while one team will lift the trophy at the end, four other sides will clinch the coveted berths for the eight-team ICC Women’s World Cup. The four teams that eventually qualify will also feature in the ICC Women’s Championship, while two more teams will join them in the Super Six stage and will be assured of at least ODI status for the next cycle.

Four teams — Australia, England, New Zealand, and West Indies — have earned automatic qualification for the eight-team event after finishing in the top four of the ICC Women's Championship in October last year. The bottom four (India, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka) are now competing with Bangladesh, Ireland, Zimbabwe, Thailand, Papua New Guinea and Scotland in the final stage of qualifying.

Also read: When and where to watch, live coverage and online streaming, of the ICC Women's World Cup qualifiers

Tournament format

The ten teams are divided into two groups of five each. Each team will play four matches in the group stage and the top three teams from the respective groups will qualify for the Super Six stage. The teams will carry forward their points into Super Six, and each side will play against the teams from the opposite group in this stage of the tournament. The top-four sides at the end of the Super Six round will qualify for the mega event later this year. The top-two teams will face off in the final of the Qualifiers on 21 February.


Group A: India, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand

Group B: South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea


Here's a look at the rankings of both groups in the first round of the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2017 (as of 7 February)

Group A

 Teams  Matches  Won  Lost  Tied  N/R  Points  NRR
 India  3  3  0  0  0  6  2.875
 Sri Lanka  2  1  1  0  0  2  0.320
 Zimbabwe  2  1  1  0  0  2  -0.830
 Ireland  3  1  2  0  0  2  -1.013
 Thailand  2  0  2  0  0  0  -1.889

Group B

 Teams  Matches  Won  Lost  Tied  N/R  Points  NRR
 Pakistan  3  2  1  0  0  4  1.600
 South Africa  2  2  0  0  0  4  1.452
 Bangladesh  3  2  1  0  0  4  0.674
 Scotland  2  0  2  0  0  0  -1.227
 PNG  2  0  2  0  0  0  -3.540

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2017 14:42:47 IST

Also See