ICC Awards: Ravichandran Ashwin caps glorious year by wining ‘Cricketer of the Year'

Leading Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin added another feather to his cap, when he was adjudged the 'Cricketer of the Year' in the ICC Awards on Thursday.

Ashwin, who topped the bowling charts in the recently-concluded Test series against England with 28 wickets, was also presented with the 'ICC Test Cricketer of the Year' award in what has been a rain of accolades for the Tamil Nadu off-spinner. Ashwin is currently the No 1 Test bowler in the ICC Rankings, with Ravindra Jadeja rising to the second spot to make for an unusual instance of two Indian bowlers topping the Test bowling charts.

"Its an absolute pleasure to be awarded with this great honour. It's been a great couple of years, but this year has been even more special," Ashwin was quoted as saying in a video message.





"Would like to dedicate this award to my family, and I would also like to thank the ICC, and most importantly my teammates. Would also like to dedicate it to the team and to the support staff. Special mention to the skill coaches Sanjay Bangar, (R) Sridhar, Anil Kumble and not to forget, Ravi Shastri as well," added Ashwin.



Among the other awards, South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock and West Indies T20I skipper Carlos Brathwaite were adjudged the ODI and T20I cricketers of the year. De Kock's incredible run in the 50-over format stretches back to the bilateral series against England, in which he blasted two centuries as the Proteas avenged their Test series loss by winning the ODI leg 3-2. Brathwaite, on the other hand, turned into an overnight T20 superstar by smashing four consecutive sixes off Ben Stokes in the ICC World T20 final in April earlier this year, as West Indies lifted the trophy for the second time.



Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman, whose moment of the year was flooring Andre Russell in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), won the 'Emerging Cricketer of the Year' for a fabulous run that saw him rise to the status of the Bangladesh pace spearhead. His figures of 5/22 against New Zealand in the same tournament as the one which saw Brathwaite hit those sixes will go down as one of the 'spells of the year' across format.

New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates bagged both the ODI and T20I woman cricketer of the year, although the women's accolades were presented much earlier on 14 December. Bates has been in terrific form this year, hammering a memorable century against trans-Tasman rivals Australia, aside from six half-centuries, in ODIs. The 20-over international format saw her hit three fifties.



Afghanistan wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad was adjuded the 'Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year'. The diminutive cricketer caught the attention of the world as the Afghan cricket team charted their rise in international cricket, obliterated bowling attacks in the World T20, smashing a 39-ball 61 against Scotland, and smashing the likes of Kagiso Rabada and Chris Morris to record a 19-ball 44 during his side's fixture against South Africa.

The first award of the day was the 'Spirit of Cricket Award 2016', which was awarded to Pakistan Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. The 42-year-old's most iconic moment of the year was leading his team to a memorable 75-run win over England at the Lord's, which was then followed by the entire team doing push-ups in an act of celebration.

"I feel honoured and humbled to have won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award. To lift the Test mace earlier this year and now this in the twilight of my career, is a message for every athlete that age is not a barrier as long as the sportsperson maintains highest fitness levels and continues to perform up to international standards," Misbah said as per an official ICC release.



Next in line was the 'David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year', which was presented to South African umpire Marais Erasmus. A member of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, Erasmus joined the likes of Simon Taufel, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena and Richard Kettleborough in the list of awardees.

"David Shepherd has been one of the role models for many aspiring umpires and to win the trophy named after him is something to be really proud of. It has been an excellent period of international cricket and I consider myself extremely fortunate to be part of it," Erasmus was quoted as per an ICC report.



That was followed by the announcement of the ICC Test and ODI teams of 2016. While India Test skipper Virat Kohli was made captain of the ODI team, he surprisingly did not find a place in the Test side, in which Ashwin was the only Indian to get picked.

Updated Date: Dec 22, 2016 14:04:14 IST