I-League: East Bengal coach Biswajit Bhattacharya resigns after loss to Bengaluru FC

Kolkata: East Bengal coach Biswajit Bhattacharya on Monday, resigned following their debacle in Bengaluru where their I-League title hopes virtually went up in smoke following a 1-3 defeat.

Confirming the development, East Bengal football secretary Santosh Bhattacharya said,"We have received an e-mail from him stating that he does not want to continue for the remaining two matches."

East Bengal will take on Sporting Clube de Goa at Barasat stadium Friday before concluding their I-League campaign in Shillong against Lajong FC April 24.

Former East Bengal coach, Biswajit Bhattacharya

Former East Bengal coach, Biswajit Bhattacharya

"We're yet to take a final call. We will sit with him and decide what best can be done for the remaining two matches."

In case the former India captain does not continue his deputies Debjit Ghosh and Sanjay Majhi will be sharing the responsibilities in the two matches.

A former Mohun Bagan and United SC coach, Bhattacharya had succeeded Dutchman Eelco Schattorie in June last year amid tremendous pressure of winning the I-League from their arch-rivals.

Bhattacharya had started off well with East Bengal winning the Calcutta Football League (CFL) Premier Division title for a sixth successive time but their I-League dream almost got over in Bengaluru yesterday.


Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 11, 2016 19:16:40 IST

Also See