Hockey Junior World Cup 2016: Full schedule, where and when to watch, live coverage on TV, online streaming

The 11th edition of the Hockey Junior World Cup for men is all set to get under way on 8 December in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. The top 16 teams in the world will be vying for the title over a total of 44 matches held over ten days. The matches will be played at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium.

The Hockey Junior World Cup 2016 will be held between 8–18 December in Lucknow. Image courtesy: FIH

The Hockey Junior World Cup 2016 will be held between 8–18 December in Lucknow. Image courtesy: FIH

This will be the second time that India plays host to the men’s Junior World Cup. In 2013, the event was held in New Delhi and a young Christopher Rühr inspired Germany to a second successive title. Germany are bidding for their third successive men’s Junior World Cup title, and are the most successful team in the history of the competition with six titles to their name. As Asian champions, host nation India are considered as one of the favourites to end Germany's dominance in the competition.

The world’s rising stars will battle it out in what promises to be one of the most competitive hockey events of the year. The 16 teams are divided into four pools of four teams each, and the top two teams in each pool will advance to the quarter-finals. The teams that finish third and fourth compete in the ninth to 12th place classification and 13th to 16th place classification respectively. Here's how the teams are divided:

Pool A: Australia, Argentina, South Korea, Austria

Pool B: Netherlands, Belgium, Malaysia, Egypt

Pool C: Germany, New Zealand, Spain, Japan

Pool D: England, India, South Africa, Canada

Where to watch:

All matches will be aired on Star Sports 4 and HD4. You can also catch all the action online by logging into Hotstar, either on the desktop website or through the smartphone app.

Full schedule:

The pool stages are scheduled between 8 to 12 December before the classification matches begin on 14 December. The medal matches will then be held on 18 December. Tickets for the matches can be bought online here.

Take a look at the full schedule below:

Date Teams Pool Time
8 December New Zealand vs Japan Pool C 11:30 IST
Germany vs Spain Pool C 13:30 IST
England vs South Africa Pool D 15:30 IST
India vs Canada Pool D 19:00 IST
9 Decmeber Australia vs South Korea Pool A 10:00 IST
Argentina vs Austria Pool A 12:00 IST
Belgium vs Egypt Pool B 14:00 IST
Spain vs Japan Pool C 16:00 IST
New Zealand vs Germany Pool C 18:00 IST
Netherlands vs Malaysia Pool B 20:00 IST
10 December South Korea vs Austria Pool A 13:00 IST
South Africa vs Canada Pool D 15:00 IST
Argentina vs Australia Pool A 17:00 IST
India vs England Pool D 19:00 IST
11 December Germany vs Japan Pool C 13:00 IST
Belgium vs Netherlands Pool B 15:00 IST
Malaysia vs Egypt Pool B 17:00IST
Spain vs New Zealand Pool C 19:00 IST
12 December England vs Canada Pool D 10:00 IST
Australia vs Austria Pool A 12:00 IST
South Korea vs Argentina Pool A 14:00 IST
Netherlands vs Egypt Pool B 16:00 IST
Malaysia vs Belgium Pool B 18:00 IST
South Africa vs India Pool D 20:00 IST
14 December TBD Quarter-final 1 12:15 IST
TBD Quarter-final 2 14:30 IST
TBD Quarter-final 3 16:45 IST
TBD Quarter-final 4 19:00 IST
15 December TBD 13/16 Place 12:15 IST
TBD 13/16 Place 14:30 IST
TBD 9/12 Place 16:45 IST
TBD 9/ 12 Place 19:00 IST
16 December TBD 5/8 Place 12:15 IST
TBD 5/8 Place 14:30 IST
TBD Semi-final 1 16:45 IST
TBD Semi-final 2 19:00 IST
17 December TBD 15th/16th Place 12:15 IST
TBD 13th/14th Place 14:30 IST
TBD 11th/12th Place 16:45 IST
TBD 9th/10th Place 19:00 IST
18 December TBD 7th/8th Place 12:15 IST
TBD 5th/6th Place 14:30 IST
TBD 4th/3rd Place 16:45 IST
TBD Final 19:00 IST


Updated Date: Dec 05, 2016 19:18 PM

Also See