Co-presented by

FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017: From the iconic Salt Lake stadium to modern DY Patil arena, a look at all six venues

Less than a 100 days from now, thousands of excited football fans will rush into the various stadiums across India to be a part of history as the nation hosts and participates in its first ever FIFA tournament.

The tournament will provide an opportunity not only to the Indian players to play against future stars from around the world but also to the fans who will get the opportunity to support an Indian team at a FIFA tournament.

The tournament will be played in six cities across the country giving fans from all parts of India an opportunity to witness the action.

With FIFA approving six stadiums to host the tournament, here is all you need to know about each venue:

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi

 FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017: From the iconic Salt Lake stadium to modern DY Patil arena, a look at all six venues

File photo of the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. New Delhi. AFP

Built in 1982 to host the Asian Games, the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is a multi-purpose sports arena.

The stadium was renovated leading up to the 2010 Commonwealth Games and has since hosted football matches featuring the Indian team and home games for Indian Super League side Delhi Dynamos.

Most notably, it hosted an exhibition match between the Indian national team and German giants Bayern Munich in 2012 which was the farewell match for Indian legend Baichung Bhutia.

Matches to be played: 6 group stage encounters and two Round of 16 matches. It is confirmed that India will play all their group stage matches at this venue.

Indira Gandhi Athletic International Stadium, Guwahati

The Indira Gandhi International Athletics Stadium, Guwahati. Image courtesy: FIFA

The Indira Gandhi International Athletics Stadium, Guwahati. Image courtesy: FIFA

The home ground of ISL side NorthEast United FC, the 30,000-seater arena is situated in Guwahati, the capital of Assam and was built in 2007 when Guwahati hosted the 33rd National Games.
One of the lesser known stadiums of the lot, the Sarusajai stadium, as it is locally know, has hosted three international matches featuring India including a 6-1 thumping of Laos in the Asian Cup qualifiers in June 2016.

Matches to be played: 6 group stage encounters, one Round of 16 match, one quarter-final match and one semi-final match.

Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium), Kolkata

Image courtesy- Twitter:IndianFootball

File photo of the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, Kolkatta. Image courtesy- Twitter:IndianFootball

Popularly known as the Salt Lake stadium, the VYBK has hosted numerous fiercely contested derby matches between Mohun Bagan and East Bengal over the years. The stadium is the largest in India and could once house more than 1,20,000 spectators.

In preparation for the U-17 World Cup, the stadium underwent renovation and bucket seats were installed which took the official capacity of the stadium to 85,000. ISL champions Atletico de Kolkata played its home matches at the VYBK for the first two seasons. The stadium however is renowned for being the home ground for the two Kolkata giants Mohun Bagan and East Bengal.

The iconic stadium has also seen the likes of German legend Oliver Kahn and Argentine superstar Lionel Messi grace its hallowed turf and so fittingly will host the best of the future stars at the final of the tournament on 28 October.

Matches to be played: 6 group stage encounters, one Round of 16 match, one quarter-final match, 3/4 place play-off and the final.

Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium, Kochi

Indian labourers remove the plastic covers from the grounds ahead of the first One Day International (ODI) cricket match between India and Australia at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi on October 16, 2010. India is scheduled to play a 03 match ODI series against Australia. AFP PHOTO/Dibyangshu SARKAR / AFP PHOTO / DIBYANGSHU SARKAR

File photo of the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi. AFP

Locally known as Kaloor International stadium, the stadium is the home of ISL side Kerala Blasters FC. At peak capacity, the stadium is a cauldron of noise as is seen during the ISL.

Built in 1996 to cater to the needs of the football-crazy fans of Kerala, the Kaloor stadium boasts the highest average attendance outside Europe with 47,000 fans flooding in to watch their home team play during the ISL.

The stadium went through some major revamp to meet FIFA requirements and Tournament Director of the Local Organising Committee, Javier Ceppi was pleased with the renovation work undertaken at the stadium.

Matches to be played: 6 group stage encounters, one Round of 16 match and one quarter-final.

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Margao


File photo fo the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Margao. Image courtesy: FIFA

With a capacity of 19,000 the Fatorda stadium in Goa, as it is popularly known, is the smallest of all stadiums hosting the U-17 World Cup.

The stadium is the home of Goan giants Dempo SC and Churchill Brothers SC from the I-league and ISL team FC Goa. Constructed in 1989, the stadium has hosted football as well as cricket matches.

The stadium was refurbished as it hosted the Lusofonia Games —the Portuguese equivalent of the Commonwealth Games— in 2014. The arena was also the main venue for the AFC U-16 Championship in 2016 which also acted as qualifiers for the 2017 U-17 World Cup.

Matches to be played: 6 group stage encounters, two Round of 16 encounters and one quarter-final match.

Dr. DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

Image courtesy: FIFA

File photo of the DR. DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai. Image courtesy: FIFA

The stadium was inaugurated in 2008 and hosted the final of the inaugural IPL season and hosted some matches for Mumbai Indians.

With the conception of the ISL, the DY Patil Stadium became the home ground of Mumbai City FC and also hosted the final of the inaugural edition.

The stadium is one of the most advanced in the country which includes the unique gull-winged shaped roof that don’t require pillars for support thereby giving spectators an unrestricted view of the action on the field.

Matches to be played: 6 group stage matches, one Round of 16 match, one semi-final match

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Sep 28, 2017 14:58:38 IST