DSK Shivajians beat Bengaluru FC in penalty shootout to enter Nike Premier Cup 2018 final

Margao: It was jubilation for DSK Shivajians FC as they beat Bengaluru FC 5-4 in a penalty shootout to enter the finals of the Nike Premier Cup 2018 which is organised by the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

Action in the Nike Premier Cup final between DSK Shivajians and Bengaluru FC. Twitter/ @IndianFootball

Action in the Nike Premier Cup final between DSK Shivajians and Bengaluru FC. Twitter/ @IndianFootball

The result saw Bengaluru FC lose the opportunity to advance to their first-ever Nike Premier Cup final despite being dominant throughout the 90 minutes.

Bengaluru FC started out strong, pressing and harrying the DSK Shivajians into losing possession and playing loose passes.

The two sides restricted each other to half-chances and ended up cancelling each other out.

In the end, it went down to the wire.

With a penalty shootout needed to declare a winner, Bengaluru FC took the first kick. Arkaprabha Das, Aryan Sonowal, Manish Chaudhary and Lalhmunmawia scored for them while Saikat Das missed.

Seigoumang Doungel, Sonminthang Haokip, Mintu Mech and Rewang Lepcha scored for DSK in the shootout with Bawi Rou Sang missing.

Both teams locked at 4-4, it was sudden-death and Shresth Joshi's miss for Bengaluru FC helped Zamlunmang of Shivajians win the game for the Pune-outfit.

Updated Date: Feb 06, 2018 16:51 PM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See