Commonwealth Games 2018: CFI announce 9-member Indian cycling team for Gold Coast event

New Delhi: The Cycling Federation of India on Friday announced a nine-member team, including five women, for the upcoming Commonwealth Games to be held in Gold Coast.

Representational Image. Getty Images

Representational Image. Getty Images

The five women members of the team are Deborah (Sprint, Kerin, Individual Time Trial, Team Pursuit), Aleena Reji (Sprint, Individual Time Trial, Kerin), M Sonali Chanu (Endurance Events, Team Pursuit), T Manorama Devi (Endurance Events, Team Pursuit) and Amritha Reghunath (Team Pursuit, Point Race).

The male members are Ranjit Singh (Team Sprint, Individual Time Trial 1000m), Sahil Kumar (Team Sprint, Keirin), Sanuraj P (Team Sprint, Individual Sprint, Keirin) and Manjeet Singh (Endurance events).

The team has been selected on the basis of the performance in the Asian Track Cycling Championship held at Nilai, Malaysia where the Indian team won four medals including three gold and a bronze.

"We have announced our best team for Commonwealth Games 2018 where we are expecting a good show from our cyclists.

"We dont have a good track record in Commonwealth Games so far but this year our cyclists are in good shape and they will give a good competition to the leading countries like England, Australia and others," Onkar Singh, secretary general of CFI, said.

Updated Date: Mar 17, 2018 12:13 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See