Co-presented by

Chinese Taipei Masters: Sourabh Varma storms into final

Taipei City: Indian shuttler Sourabh Varma stormed into his third successive summit clash after notching up a straight-game victory over local favourite and top seed Hsu Jen Hao in the men's singles semifinals of the Chinese Taipei Masters badminton tournament here on Saturday.

 Chinese Taipei Masters: Sourabh Varma storms into final

Sourabh Varma's impressive performances have led him to the final. Image credit: Facebook/sourabh.verma.391

2011 National champion Sourabh, who had reached the finals at two international challengers at Belgium and Poland, defeated Hao 11-4 11-7 11-9 in a 33 minute clash.

Sourabh, who is on a comeback trail after being on the sidelines with multiple injuries, will next take on the winner of the match between Malaysia's Daren Liew and fifth seed Lin Yu Hsien.

The 23-year-old from Madhya Pradesh opened up a 2-0 lead early on and then slowly crafted his way to a 8-3 lead and then pocketed the first game with three straight points.

In the second game, Hao made the early movement, leading by a slender two points but Sourabh soon turned the tables with a four-point burst and then reached 7-3 in a jiffy. The Indian kept his foot on the pedal to grab the second game as well to go 2-0 up.

The third game was the most hard-fought contest as once again Hao had surged ahead to 5-2 and though the Indian drew parity at 5-5, Hao once again led 8-6. A three-point burst helped Sourabh to grab the lead at 9-8 and though Hao leveled the score, the Indian picked up two points to shut the door on the local hero.

Sourabh won the 2013 Tata Open India International Challenge, Iran Fajr International Challenge and Austrian International in 2014. He won his first international title by winning the Bahrain International Challenge and also finished runners-up at Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold in 2011.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 15, 2016 15:31:11 IST