Australia A throw down the gauntlet to India A after amassing 150-run lead

Brisbane: India A bowlers frittered away the initial advantage with hosts Australia A's middle-order putting up a collective performance to reach a healthy 319 for five at stumps here on the second day of the second 'Test'.

File photo of Shardul Thakur. AFP

File photo of Shardul Thakur. AFP

After dismissing India A for overnight score of 169, Australia A were reduced to 11 for 2 within first five overs but Hilton Cartwright batted responsibly to remain unbeaten on 99 as the home team cruised to a commendable 150-run lead by the end of the day's play.
The 24-year-old right-hander Cartwright, who will be eager to get that one run when he comes out to bat tomorrow, hit 14 boundaries and a six in 153 balls.
He added 152 runs in 43.2 overs for the fourth wicket with Beau Webster (79) to take Australia A to a position of dominance.
Nic Maddinson (81) also looked good for three-figure scores before he was dismissed.
Seamers Shardul Thakur (3/71) and Hardik Pandya (1/39) along with off-spinner Jayant Yadav (1/80) shared the spoils amongst themselves.
Starting the day at 169 for 9, India A's innings lasted a mere four deliveries before Pandya (79) edged one off Kane Richardson (4/37) to Sam Whiteman behind stumps.
Australia A started on a disastrous note as Travis Dean (0) and Test discard Joe Burns (3) were removed by Shardul in quick succession.
Maddinson was then joined by Kurtis Patterson (25) as the duo added 92 runs for the third wicket in just over 20 overs.
Left-handed Maddinson hit 12 boundaries and two sixes off 114 balls. The two sixes came off Jayant and Shardul's deliveries. In fact, he attacked Shardul hitting him for boundaries on both sides of the wicket.
It was Patterson, who was out on team score of 103 edging one off Pandya to Naman Ojha behind stumps. At score of 128, Jayant Yadav removed Maddinson but Cartwright-Webster duo took the attack back to the opposition camp. Webster dropped anchor facing 186 balls hitting nine fours in the process.
Varun Aaron was the most erratic bowler for India A going for 59 in 17 overs with seven no-balls and a wide.

Brief Scores: India A 169 in 66.4 overs (Hardik Pandya 79, Kane Richardson 4/37)

Updated Date: Sep 16, 2016 16:21 PM

Also See