Co-presented by

Aggrieved Fencing Association writes to IOC for barring from polls

Terming the International Olympic Committee's decision to bar Fencing Association of India from voting in the February 9 elections of the IOA as "unfair", the FAI has written to the world body to reconsider the move.

The IOC had directed the Indian Olympic Association not to allow representatives from the FAI, Taekwondo Federation of India and Indian Amateur Boxing Federation to take part in the elections.

The decision came after the boxing world body, AIBA recommended the IOC not to allow the IABF representatives to cast their votes in the February 9 polls.

 Aggrieved Fencing Association writes to IOC for barring from polls

Representational image. Getty Images

Aggrieved at the IOC decision, the FAI has shot off a letter to the IOC on January 31, stating that it has been barred from exercising its right to vote for no fault of it.

"Our suspension by the international body was subsequent to the IOA's suspension by the IOC. If the IOC has asked the IOA to hold elections and we are part of the IOA, then we don't understand why we have been barred," FAI Secretary Sanjay Pradhan told PTI.

"If all the NSFs in the country are barred by their international federations, who will take part in the elections?" Pradhan asked.

"It's unfair on the part of the IOC to bar us from voting in the IOA elections. So we have written a letter to the IOC to reconsider the decision. We were expecting a reply today but it did not come. So we have sent a reminder today again," he said.

Pradhan said that the three representatives from the FAI will take part in the Special General Body Meeting of the IOA, which will precede the elections on Sunday.

FAI chief Durga Das Boro, Rajendra Singh Rana and B Y Dhankishan were to take part in the IOA elections.

Meanwhile, IABF vice-president Bhupinder Singh has withdrawn his nomination from the post of Executive Council Member following the IOC directive.

The IOA website no longer contains Bhupinder's name in the updated list of candidates for the polls after the deadline for withdrawal of candidates ended yesterday.

However, the electoral college for the polls issued by the IOA-appointed Election Commission still has the names of three representatives from the IABF as well as those three from the FAI and the Taekwondo Federation of India.

World Squash Federation chief N Ramachandran, Kho Kho Federation of India President Rajeev Mehta and All India Tennis Association boss Anil Khanna are set to be elected unopposed as president, secretary general and treasurer of the IOA, respectively in the upcoming polls.


Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Feb 03, 2014 22:45:00 IST