Yogi Adityanath, deputy CM Keshav Maurya resign from Lok Sabha after election to UP legislative council

New Delhi: Days after being elected to the state legislative council, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya on Thursday resigned as Lok Sabha members.

File image of UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath. PTI

File image of UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath. PTI

A senior Lok Sabha secretariat official said the two BJP MPs submitted their resignation letters to the secretariat.

While Adityanath represented the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat, Maurya represented the Phulpur (Allahabad) constituency.

Adityanath and Maurya were sworn in as Uttar Pradesh chief minister and deputy chief minister respectively in March after the BJP won the state polls with a massive majority. They were last week elected unopposed to the state legislative council.

Once their resignations are notified, the Election Commission will announce by-polls to the two Lok Sabha seats.

Recently, Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar had resigned as member of the Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh after he won the Panaji Assembly by-poll.

He had resigned from the Union cabinet in March to take over as the chief minister of Goa.

Updated Date: Sep 21, 2017 16:00 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See