Worli Election Result 2019 LIVE Updates | Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

  • Worli is the 182nd constituency in 288 constituencies in Maharashtra

  • This year, there are a total of 268406 electors in Worli. Out of the total, 149273 are male and 119132 are female electors

  • Sunil Govind Shinde of the SHS won this seat in the 2014 elections.

Worli Assembly Election 2019 | The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the dates for the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly polls. Voting for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly will be held on 21 October in a single phase. The counting of votes and final results will be declared on 24 October. The term of the Devendra Fadnavis-led current Maharashtra Assembly will end on 9 November.

The notification and nomination process for the Assembly election was issued on 27 September. Candidates filed their nominations latest by 4 October. The scrutiny of nomination papers was done on 5 October and the last date to withdraw candidature from the electoral battle was 7 October. A total of 95,473 polling stations will be set up for over 8.95 crore voters in Maharashtra.

There is one reserved seat under Scheduled Caste category in the Mumbai city district — Dharavi.

Click here for detailed coverage of Assembly Elections 2019 

 Worli Election Result 2019 LIVE Updates | Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Representational image. PTI

Constituency Name— Worli
Constituency Number— 182
District Name— Mumbai City
Total Electors— 2,68,406
Female Electors— 1,19,132
Male Electors— 1,49,273
Third Gender— 1
Reserved— None

Results in previous elections—Since, 1990 to 2004 Assembly elections, this constituency was won by Shiv Sena candidate Datta Nalawade. In 2009 elections, for the first time in decades, an NCP candidate came to power by defeating a Shiv Sena candidate in this constituency. NCP's Sachin Mohan Ahir won with 52,398 votes against Shiv Sena's Ashish Chemburkar. In 2014, Shiv Sena returned to power when its candidate Sunil Govind Shinde won with a margin of about 30,000 votes.

Demographics— While the Sena nominee is raising issues like cutting of trees in Aarey Colony and Mumbai's nightlife, the NCP says its candidate is more aware of local issues.

Once home to the fisherfolk, Worli later became a textile hub and has now developed into an area housing skyscrapers and commercial complexes. The landmarks include Nehru Centre, Nehru Planetarium, Haji Ali dargah and the Mahalaxmi racecourse.

The constituency will see the electoral debut of Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray’s son Aaditya Thackeray’s electoral debut. Aaditya is pitted against NCP's Suresh Mane, Gautam Gaikwad of the Vanchit Bahujan Aaghadi and Independent candidate Abhijit Bichukale.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Oct 24, 2019 14:57:37 IST