West Bengal polls: Filmstars, sportsmen and musicians to grace new Assembly

Kolkata: The new West Bengal Assembly will have a batch of greenhorns from the world of films, music and sports rubbing shoulders with seasoned politicians.

Former Bengal cricket captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla has won from Howrah north seat on a Trinamool ticket by defeating
his nearest rival Santosh Kumar Pathak of Congress by 26,959 votes.

In the star-studded fight he also left behind BJP leader and actress Roopa Ganguly, best known for her 'Draupadi' act in BR Chopra's epic TV series 'Mahabharat', by around 30,000 votes.

Former Bengal captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla. AFP

Former Bengal captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla. AFP

Popular Bengali singer Indranil Sen has managed to woo voters as a Trinamool leader from Chandernagore seat on a slender margin of 2114 votes.

He is known for his Rabindra Sangeet albums but has also given his voice as a playback singer in many films.

In south Basirhat seat, footballer Dipendu Biswas who was fielded by TMC defeated BJP's only sitting MLA Samik Bhattacharya by over 24,000 votes.

The 34-year-old sportsman has in the past played both for Mohun Bagan and East Bengal football clubs.

Giving them company in the world of politics will be two other stars who are now experienced in the assembly.


Bengali film actress and Trinamool candidate Debasree Roy once again won from Raidighi seat by beating CPI-M veteran leader Kanti Ganguly.

Sitting MLA and filmstar Chiranjeet Chakraborty retained his seat from Barasat.

Former BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya's daughter Baishali won from Bally constituency in Howrah district on a Trinamool ticket. She defeated her nearest rival Saumendranath Bera of CPM by 15,403 votes.

Former investment banker Mahua Moitra, who left her lucrative job as vice-president of JP Morgan in London to join politics, won Karimpur seat in Nadia district by 15,989 votes.

Updated Date: May 19, 2016 20:34 PM

Also See